Sort:  

I'm sure they can figure out an appropriate penalty for reneging your social contract.

Who is they? Who will be sent? The constitution is the social contract, who is reneging? I want you to say it. I want you to admit that you want the police to use AR-15s to take mine away.

Yes, our Constitution says it's the job of the Supreme Court to determine what's constitutional and what isn't. If they determine it's constitutional to ban auto fire weapons, are you going to do what the Branch Davidians did? I just watched the Waco series on TV. What a sad, pathetic tragedy, and both sides were at fault. I'd certainly opt for elimination of social benefits for those who opt out of our social contract before advocating the use of violence like the ATF and FBI did.

Auto fire weapons are already banned.

Have you taught yourself what a semiautomatic firing mechanism is yet? Seriously, there's a thing called Google, where you can just type in stuff and learn all about it. I can't believe that it's so hard that it isn't even worth it.

Why not have an educated opinion? I was the ENTIRE purpose of this post, and it's hard to understand why you didn't check it out. These distinctions are important.

Pardon me, but I might have included semi-auto in with that "auto fire" when I said that. I do know something about guns. Got a couple trophies on my wall for shooting matches I've been in, sponsored by the NRA. Yes, people prefer semi-auto for hunting, but you can hunt with manual load just as effectively. I don't think it makes it harder to bag that game. Some people like to make it even harder and just use bow and arrow.

Yeah, it's amazing how frequently people mix up their terminology - how little the differences seem to matter to them. You correct them, and they just toss it off - like "yeah, whatever".

One would think that if gun control advocates knew what they wanted, they wouldn't get things mixed up so consistently. If people are being murdered because of some specific category of weapons, and those weapons should be kept out of the hands of people who obey laws, It's important to know exactly which weapons those are. Is it the black weapons? Is it the "military style" weapons? It is machine guns? Rifles? Handguns?

Or is it that small ubiquitous, semi-automatic firing mechanism? It all sounds emotionally irrational to me.