You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resolving Conflicts: Dialog vs. Activism

in #politics7 years ago

Oi mate, you are very on point when it comes the importance of dialogue . I tend to criticize a lot nowadays. Talking to many people in Steemit #politics, I see that most hold very common values and the most important is a respectful approach. This is also a big plus when it comes to Steemit we don't curse that much, well at least on the blockchain...

Anyways there is a certain mantra I developed where I only like to talk about the points I disagree on and that fits very well into what you wrote about in this article. Just because i disagree with you does not mean I hate you, I am actually just curious why you hold those different believes.

Many people nowadays seem to think that disagreement means you need to treat the other person like shoot, which is kind of a modern way of thinking. The old philosophers constantly disagreed with each other and actually used dialog to develop their ideas.

My main criticism with your post this time : the word "dialogue" why would you not spell it "dialog" like we germans do? You even got "logbook" and stuff like that. Why would you adapt a french spelling with two silent consonants!?

Oh and on a serious note, activism is not in contrast to dialog for me. "Die Aufklärung" in Germany was mainly to spread ideas and to become politically active does not mean to fight something but that you want to establish something. At least this is what activism means to me.

Sort:  

Yeah dialog is part of activism, but for some dialog is vs. activism hehe.

Interesting about dialog. I had is dialog, then when I was using dictation it did dialogue. I just changed it now everywhere. I like dialog more.

http://writingexplained.org/dialog-vs-dialogue-difference

changed it now everywhere. I like dialog more.

You got yourself a witness vote, buddy! :D

LOL. Thanks! I'll change words more often :P

seems to me (a Brit) that dialogue is the correct term for your excellent article.