You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cognitive Dissonance: The Most Prolific Psychological Plague of our Time (The War in Syria)

in #politics7 years ago

As a lifelong learner, cognitive dissonance is quite familiar, and an even longed for, state. Every bit of new knowledge gained displaces either ignorance, or more commonly, an incorrect belief.

Without such cognitive dissonance, I would find life unbearable. Each resolution of it is a victory over ignorance, and these rewards imbue my life with meaning and happiness.

I wish more people recognized the value of victory over ignorance, and how much better it is, in every way, from the shot of dopamine we are given when we defend our chosen belief against facts that disprove it.

I prefer my dopamine with a dollop of truth, while all too many seem to prefer the chaser of ignorance with theirs.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Beautifully worded!