Why Trump is going to be the next president

in #politics8 years ago

Love him or hate him Trump is a very polarizing candidate. I'm not posting this as a political debate about policy or anything like that just an observation about how the election is going to play out. I'm not going to share my opinions of either candidate merely my observations of the supporters of those candidates.

I think that Trump has a very strong fan base nobody has been able to shake support for him including Trump himself. As many people that hate Trump and want him to lose there are an equal number that feel the same about Clinton. Add to that I don't feel like she has a strong fan base, most of her supporters are the anyone but Trump variety.

The wild card is that the anyone but Trump camp doesn't take him seriously. They seem to be blind to the fact that he has such a strong fan base. Since they don't take him seriously they are not going to head out to the polls. On the other hand the anti-Clinton camp does take her seriously if they don't act she wins so they will show up. Add to that the superfans and Trump is elected in a surprise landslide.

American's love an underdog story and I think Trump has been the Cinderella since the start. I realize that people have strong options when it comes to this topic so please remember I am Switzerland here.

Sort:  

Hillary is above the law. She was tapped before anyone was running. No matter how polarizing Trump is I fully expect Hillary to win. I am not happy about that either. I think she may be the most corrupt politician I can think of that has EVER ran for that particular office. I am not just talking about the email, I'm talking about very shady, illegal, things she has done going all the way back to Watergate and the time of Nixon. If people want a woman as president, pick a random woman off the street and give her the job. I think we'd have better odds of that person being a better president.

EDIT: I am not a huge fan of Trump either. If I vote it'd be for Gary Johnson. I don't do the lesser of two evils anymore but I definitely consider Trump at this moment less evil than Hillary. When I have the opportunity to pick a person based upon their ACTIONS or their WORDS I'll always choose actions because that is what truly matters. Words are meaningless if no actions come from them. Right now there are plenty of ACTIONS to judge Hillary by. All we really have for Trump at the moment is WORDS. He might be good, he might be bad. I have no doubt he'll put his foot in his mouth occasionally if he were president, but I consider something like that far less damaging than actions.

EDIT 2: With how disliked Hillary is, if Trump were not running and some more TOE the line "reasonable" person were running do you think she'd stand a chance? That's something to think about. It has made me wonder if that is why Trump is there in the first place. Some good ol' Hegelian Dialectic to scare people into voting for someone as corrupt as Hillary. Of course that is all guess... I have no proof to that so don't truly believe it. Just pondering and speculation.