Poloniex Deposit Issues

in #poloniex7 years ago (edited)

This is a RANT.

I'm pretty sure everyone is aware of the fact that, Poloniex has a lot of problems with Withdraws, but it's not only that, I've deposited STEEM in their exchange 10 days ago, and the transaction wasn't processed, even if I've used the MEMO ID provided by them, and deposited to their correct handle.

I've been using Bittrex and Bitfinex and I've been really happy with them so far, no issues have came up so far.

I always keep my money in my own wallets, and being able to deposit then withdraw easily is at the top of my priorities.

The only reason I liked Poloniex was because things were happening fast, but it became a big problem for me, because it generated me extra stress I shouldn't bang my head over, I haven't lost a big amount of money, it was around 167 Steem, but it's mine, and I don't really like when people "steal" from me.

Cryptocurrencies are more of a hobby for me, and I dedicate a fair amount of time into them, and constant price changes don't bother me at all, and neither the instability, it's all part of the game, but having my money blocked shouldn't be part of this trading game.

I've also used CoinBase, we all know it has a lot of problems, and there's a lot of people unhappy with it, but they're doing one thing right, reading to your emails and replying to your fustrations, and Customer Service seems to be at top of their list + I really like how their Wallet System is made, and as a Developer I understand why they're having HUGE issues with Deposits and Withdraws, especially during high-traffic moments.

Poloniex could be such a great place, they already have the community, but what they lack entirely is support, if things continue like this, I hope it dies fast, because take the following scenario :

I join this cryptocurrency world, and I buy bitcoins, then I want to invest into altcoins, I take the most famous website, which is poloniex, and I head into trading, my first interaction is depositing BTC, ETH or LTC, because that's what you can easily get for FIAT Currencies, the deposit will 99.99% go well, you're getting used to the deposit times, after that, you buy a crypto, say STEEM, you've heard that it's not a good practice to hold your money into exchanges, so what you do ? Withdraw, then you see a new coin you'd like to buy, you either buy more BTC and repeat the process, or try to deposit STEEM, which is an altcoin where deposit & withdraw issues frequently happen, and you have your first interaction with the SUPER SHITTY CUSTOMER SERVICE, would you put more money into crypto ?

In my case, I was lucky, my first negative experience happened just after weeks after getting into this crypto game, I've invested a fair amount of money ( around $6000 ), I've also interacted with Coinbase Withdraws to my bank account, and they were fast, and I loved them ( Because I wanted to make sure, if I make money from cryptos, is there a way I can use it before FIAT would eventually be dead ? Can I risk more money into cryptos, knowing that I can get that money out in case something happens and I need it ? The answer seemed YES )

It's been 1 month and 2 weeks since I first started with Trading Cryptos, even if I knew about Bitcoin since 2012,  I couldn't even dream it would get to this point of mass adoption, and the only REAL PROBLEM, I've encountered has been Poloniex, and I strongly recommend anyone starting to trade, or even trading, to avoid this platform, they've disabled the Trollbox because they couldn't handle the complaints anymore, that staff wasn't re-allocated to support, because if they've done that, and actually had a damn SYSTEM in place to handle all this volume of users, they would've done a great job, and fustration wouldn't have been part of your daily life when interacting with them.

My advice for people just starting with Cryptos is avoid Poloniex, and you'll avoid HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.

I really can't imagine how they're still standing, and people still use it, I was DUMB to continue using it, even if there where thousands of people sharing their story and fustration with them, sometimes you just have to listen, because at one point, it will happen to you to.

I hoped everyone was wrong about it, because I really liked it, but it seems I was very very wrong.


Edit : I've just sent bittrex support a message, they've replied in less than 2 minutes, honestly it's all I need, and I'm sure everyone wants this, especially people who are starting and need a little bit of hand-holding.


Sort:  

Yes. Be careful about Polo. If you read their update from 3 weeks ago, they wrote they shut down their trll box because they could not handle the support requests.

It took them 30 days to send me my small amount of lite coins... finally got em and sold just in time ebfore the crash of yesterday....

If you are holding long term on your coins be sure to have a wallet on your pc/phone and make sure you have 4 or 5 backups of the wallet.

If using an exchange you have to play the risk game. Sometimes they won't let anyone withdraw. Othertimes some get hacked. It sucks, Ihave been through all of this. :(

Good luck on your issue though!

damn :/ nightmare.

I have about 500 SBD lost in transition for over a week - that have to appear in my wallet on Polo. seems that other services may be more responsive.

My SBD does not deposit to Bittrex! I think steem and SBD may be broken right now! I hope they fix is soon. Or are the only exchanges available just scamming!? There hasn't been a good enough discussion for what's going on. I would say hold for now until an announcement from the steem team.

It took around 3 hours for them to process my STEEM Withdraw, while all other currencies were almost instant, if it's not there in a few hours, I think you should make a support request, they seem to reply pretty fast.

Congratulations @rusuandreirobert! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!