Poloniex problems with BitShares

in #poloniex6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I was buying some BitShares on Poloniex exchange for my long term portfolio of altcoins. I somehow felt that something is not OK because of some signs I noticed. But as always in such situations - I did what I intended to do despite the warning signals.

As you know Bittrex ended support for BitShares some time ago. And from bigger exchanges only Poloniex supports Bitshares.

I do not use BitShares DEX for trading because there is no trusted way on getting funds there. I still have a lot of money frozen in OpenLeger gateway and losing thousands of dollars every week is very upsetting. But even if you are lucky to get your funds on BitShares DEX you will face another issue - very low volume, high prices and very little trades. So, you are left with Poloniex.

And today I saw this nice text on BitShares chart.

BTS is currently under maintenance or experiencing wallet/network issues. Deposits and withdrawals will remain disabled until a solution is found, which may require an update from the BTS team. Any updates must be tested and audited before enabling.

poloniex-bitshares-2017-11-13.png

I could not find explanation on web. However I found some previous cases of the same issue on Poloniex. At that time it meant that withdrawing bitshares could be possible in a week or so.

It is not a big problem for me but could be for those who are trading with them in short term. I hope that this little issue will make BitShare price drop to lower low and I can buy some more.

Update

Btw, on Github there are no issues about problems. I found an old one with Poloniex with the same message in it but nobody from Poloniex responded or cared to reply.

When I started to use Steemit I read some posts about frozen funds in Poloniex. So, I am aware that this is not the best exchange and you should be of such issues happening time to time. This is the reason why I post this information. You should be informed that you can be locked on exchange. In this case you can still sell or buy inside exchange with this cryptocurrency but you can not withdraw the funds.

Sort:  

Congratulations @scorer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!