Polyphasic Sleep Days 1 and 2

in #polyphasic6 years ago

I'm currently on day 3 right now, however it's just beginning of said day, so I will not be talking about it. I suppose I'll do this for every day, waiting until the next to write about it. I only plan to do this during the adaptive phase, because I think everything beyond that would be too boring.

I decided to do the easy one, with 6 hour sleep and 20 minute nap. I plan to progress in difficulty, maybe every season or at least every month. This is what it's looking like:

Screenshot from 2018-09-01 17-51-21.png

Day 1

Of the two, this day was a bit more difficult. Due to the previous schedule, it was hard to stay up until 23:00. I got tired as early as 19:00. I somehow managed to keep myself awake and the next day was significantly easier. Waking up wasn't an issue, however. I find it rather easy to wake up compared to before when I slept 12 hours a day, and staying up through the day until the nap was easy as well.

I don't know how to describe the napping experience, even though I was asleep, it didn't feel that way, I could still hear everything around me.

Day 2

Day 2 was a lot easier of an experience, I was for the most part wide awake through the day and tired through the sleep and nap phases. The only difficulty I had in regards to staying awake was around a couple hours before the sleep phase, it was a bit difficult to stay up, but not as significantly as day 1 and the drowsy feeling happened only two hours before the designated sleep time.

During the nap, I find myself feeling impatient. In that, I expect the alarm to go off, but it has only been, say, 10 minutes rather than 20. I think I was also "woken up" at one point, but I was able to get through it. Regardless of the issues, I still woke up feeling good.

I still cannot understand how 20 minute nap can be as good as a 90 minute sleep. I probably won't be posting updates every day, probably go for every other day unless something big happens.