A stroll at sunset

in #portrait7 years ago

I have always been a big fan of simplicity in my work. I frequently use natural light, and at the time of this shoot, in the spring of 2012, I was still recovering, to a degree, from a phase where I wound up with five strobes and used them all at once a lot of the time. The results never completely pleased me.

For this session, I wanted to try using a flash to supplement natural light. Normally, I like making the best use I can of natural light without strobes, but this was a beautiful sunset and to show it well and also show the model's face; I had to supplement. At the time, I had a (then) four year old Sony A350 with a Sony 50mm 1.4 lens. The supplemental light was from the "popup" flash; one of two or three times in about 500 shoots that I've used it. I actually really like the results though. The model is Mimi Martinez. As far as I know, she is retired from shooting.

Just as I tend toward simple lighting, the concepts tend not to be overly complex. "A walk in the woods" with clothing disappearing is all there is to it. :) The first image in the "story" is shot at; ƒ/3.5, 50.0 mm, 1/60, iso 100, Flash (on, fired)

6873492844_39f22d2b4d_o.jpg

The second image uses the same settings, and was actually taken 45 seconds before the one above. It just fit better in this order.

6876381506_49a2216d63_o.jpg

For the final shot presented here, the settings are ƒ/4.0, 50.0 mm, 1/60 ISO 100 Flash (on, fired) This was a mere three minutes later; since the sunset was fading fast, the whole set was very brief.

6896820998_810a7851a1_o.jpg

The session above was a couple days before the shoot which included the portrait featured here:
https://steemit.com/photography/@artofthenude/simple-beauty

Another sample of my art nude stories is the editorial shoot here:
https://steemit.com/artnude/@artofthenude/samples-from-the-car-shoot

Sort:  

Nice session with Mimi. I tended to prefer natural light (thus no entries for this contest!) - but a flash fill is essential with strong backlight as you encountered here at sunset. Great job!

Thanks. I'm not sure I'd even call that "fill". It's kind of the main light. And, I'm very much a "prefers natural light" photographer. But, there are times when something else is necessary or preferable. So, I like to have other options available.

Nice job, thanks for the submission!

Thank you. :)

Congratulations @artofthenude! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!