Finally it is Done! Our First Couple Portrait

in #portrait3 years ago

This drawing of mine is quite especial. This is my first try to draw our photo together. To be honest it is challenging as you may know I am not a pro artist but just a newbie.

There lots of details in this drawing so I made a decision that I won't forced myself to draw fast. As I remember last August 10 I draw myself first and posted it. The next day I proceed and finish the other one. This drawing takes 3 days but I don't spend more than 2 hours after august 10. I just wanted to just draw slowly this time which I think was best not to force myself for long hours of drawing. Based on my experience on my last drawing of couple, I was in a hurry and wanted to finish it in just one sitting.

I experience many errors and for me I didn't meet high quality portrait towards that wrong move of mine. So this time I just wanted to share my longest drawing I've ever done so far and this drawing was my first attempt to draw the background as well.

Materials:

A4 Vellum Board
Graphite Pencil
Mongol Pencil
Charcoal Powder
Make up brushes
Paper Blending Stump
Eraser

Here are the photo of my sketch and after I finish myself, this is just the continuation:

IMG_20210810_160041.jpg

IMG_20210810_160201.jpg

PART 2

I start to render the eye and eyebrow first. I use small brushes, charcoal powder, 6B and B graphite pencil. I do shading after I did the nose and the lips.

IMG_20210814_150901.jpg

IMG_20210812_155345.jpg

I use 4B pencil on hair and beard for some structure. I smudge a little using blending stump and small brush. I add charcoal powder to blacken the hair and blend it carefully.

IMG_20210816_122515.jpg

Including the background was adds more pressure and challenged me a lot. I really tried my best to draw and copy it but I guess my best wasn't good enough. Do I sound like a song :)

Here is the final look of my drawing, I always don't achieve a better look when I have to do capturing it looks. The bad lighting affects the way it looks in the camera that I used so I tried to record a video into it.

IMG20210813094456-01.jpeg

Thanks for reading my story today, keep safe and have a good day! :)

XOXO,

Rachelle