One light is often all you need.

JohnB_244BW.jpg

This photo from 2017 is of my friend and local musician John Budnik. It was lit with a single BRX 500 w/ 53" Elinchrom rotalux octabox flown directly overhead, with a white bounce card at his feet. This is one of my favorite lighting setups and one I use often. I also sometimes use the 60" photek softlighter for this setup.

lighting-diagram-1515873806.png

Camera info:
Sony a7R
Zeiss 55mm f1.8
f10
1/125
ISO 100

Thanks for looking and as always feel free to gimme a shout if you have any questions!

Sort:  

Drop some of that drone footage on us...Govt Peak?

It's coming! I just need to finalize how I want to present it - editing, length, etc. I'm a newbie to video so until I have a grasp on it you'll just have to wait in anticipation. ;)

this is a great example of simple but very moody image, you really managed to express a lot

Thanks! :D

Great shot! I'm a big fan of simple but effective set-ups.

Thanks! I agree! In the past I would use up to 5+ lights but I'm gravitating more and more to the more natural look of a single source.

It's amazing what you can pull of using just one or two lights. And indeed, it can look a lot more natural.