Brazilian Waxing in Hi Res

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

OK, so that's a pure clickbait title, but not inaccurate.

This was an image I took way back in November 2014, and it was a very very cold winter in Ireland. The temperature this night had hit -11 centigrade. I know that doesn't sound all that cold to some people, but bear in mind that the air in Ireland has a very high moisture content, so anything below 4 degress feels much much colder. The cold this night actually caused pain.

Naturally, the best idea I could come up with for a shoot, was to take a model born and raised on the beaches of Sao Paulo, bring her out the back garden in the freezing cold, and spray her with an ice cold shower from the garden hose.

In fairness to my model, Luciana, she was an amazing professional and never stopped smiling through the whole shoot, and even seemed to enjoy the experience.

Oh yes, I almost forget - I had made up a plywood platform for her to stand on and painted it. However the paint was so slippery, I had to cover it with a matte wax to make it better to walk on and less reflective for the lighting. I'd never seen wax freeze over before but turns out it freezes very damn hard, and poor Luciana spent most of the time on her bum.

It was funny for me though ;)


IMG_0026.jpg
Click on the image to view full screen!


CategoryModel shoot
Settings1/160 sec @ f/5.6, ISO 200
CameraCanon 600D (Rebel t3i)
LensEF 24-105 f/4 IS USM @ 47mm
LocationMeath, Ireland

Sort:  

I've said it before in another comment but its when I read stories like this that I start to appreciate just how difficult a model's life can be! Suddenly it doesn't look half as glamorous as it used to! :)

That's exactly why I was never tempted to put on a leotard and heels for a shoot. Being an overweight male possibly didn't help either....

I've put on a leotard and heels, but not for a shoot! ;). And just to add to that horror-show picture of me, I also am an overweight male! :)

Beautiful work. Resteemed!

A gentleman and a scholar you are.

a good shot is worth all the effort :-)

Cheers for the comment @ erikbolding :D

Beauty of a shot! Well done man!

Appreciate it chief :)

Brilliant execution sir!

Haha love a good click bait title. Perfectly allowed when followed up by an epic image like this. Great work dude.

I wouldn't wear whatever she's wearing at -11 C. My balls would fall off from frostbite.

Lol. Luckily her balls had fallen off decades beforehand.

nice photogaphy

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back