Careers in Korea #3

I met this parking security guard whilst exploring Gangnam, Seoul. For some reason, I was drawn to the parking guard uniform right from the start, and I now proudly own a security guard hat.

I have a back up in my notepad that explains in Korean who I am and why I'm taking photos, but I didn't need it on this occasion. I asked the gent if I could take a photo and the response was immediate: 'Of what? Me? Why??'. He was clearly pretty surprised that he might be the subject of the photo. He spoke perfectly fluent English and we got talking about his job, which he's been in for 7 years, and moved on to all kinds of topics.

It was my naive assumption that the older generation of Koreans wouldn't really speak much English. I was super happy to be proven wrong, and it wasn't the only time :)

parking-guard-suprise.jpg

Sort:  

I enjoy your post^^. I upvoted.

Thank you! Glad you like it!