Inspiration can be found in the strangest of places

Inspiration, often found in unexpected places.


Lately I've been thinking a lot about inspiration, and the many forms it comes in. I find inspiration a very interesting thing because it means different things to different people. In this post, I'm going to talk about what inspiration means for me and the ways I apply it to my work.


In my creative journey, that only started a couple of years ago, I found inspiration to be very cross-disciplinary. As a photographer, or let's say, a photography student, I made the mistake to only look at other photographers work for inspiration.

Which at first, when I started my masters in photography, seemed fine. Now feels severely limiting. Seeking inspiration for your art, only in your discipline enables you to copy instead of taking inspiration because you only look at pictures to make pictures.

I could be wrong for saying that, and again, it's only an opinion.

Inspiration can be found in the littlest things, I came to find out. I gathered inspiration from many, many different art forms such as; Music videos, movies, concerts, visualizers, graphic design, fashion,..

Going to art shows also helped because you get to experience the work as the artist intended it to be watched, apposed to only getting to experience it via the artist's website or places such as Instagram.

Instagram is great, don't get me wrong. I use it the same way you would use Pinterest. I save pictures and videos on it all the time, and it's a great place to discover young, relatively unknown artists, but the sense of scale and detail just isn't there.

The main take away from this, already way too long post, would be to open up your mind to see, and take in, all of the different forms inspiration shows itself in. The usage of light at concerts or shows, composition in paintings or movies, different shapes and textures, smells,.. could all be used to shape your art.


FLOOR2.jpg

Take this picture for example. This portrait of my friend Floor, taken awhile ago now, is the result of looking at some of arguably some of the greatest portrait photographers of all time in combination with reading up on some articles Magnum Photos published on photographing Audrey Hepburn.

After the publication of this image, a few people actually commented on the resemblance of the great actress and the influence her presence had in what some would call the "golden era of Hollywood". If that isn't a compliment, I​ don't know what is.


FLOOR_HASSELBLAD_005.png


You've reached the end of this post. Thanks for reading! if you have any questions, critique, anything at all, feel free to comment below :) I'll do my best to reply to each and every one​ of you :) Liked what you saw? Consider​ following me on Instagram

Sort:  

Congratulations @lennertdirkx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #382!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :) Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Congratulations @lennertdirkx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!