The automated side of POSH is officially dead, long live POSH

in #poshlast year

A quick post to let everyone again know what this means.

The @poshtoken comments alerting authors of the shared posts will now not work any longer.

Congrats @desireeart for getting the last share in, although you're not registered on the POSH website for rewards. :P

image.png

Turns out Twitter was in a hurry to shut down their API's and couldn't wait a few more days for the first of the month as they initially mentioned.

The new limits are well, quite limited as you can see by this screenshot provided by our dev @rishi556:

image.png

We've done 50k requests in just about a week, even the basic (non free) tier won't be enough to cover our needs.

Don't worry, though, we'll be figuring something out. We're working on the website and have quite a few ideas on how to adapt to this situation. The community has also been wonderful in sharing their ideas with us of which some are really great. I'll talk about it when we've decided but currently waiting on the revamped website to be ready, so stay tuned!

For the time being, we wouldn't mind it if sharers started embedding the tweets themselves in the comment section of posts they share, our curation team will most likely turn to scrolling through the #hive tag on Twitter to look for shares to reward with hive votes and potentially soon also POSH rewards.

It's quite late here, this sudden closure came as a surprise to us so it took a while for us to notice the comments had stopped operating, just wanted to get this quick post out for any questions that may occur once everyone starts waking up to the lack of comments of their shares. It was great while it lasted and the effects of POSH are surely going to last and carry the name of Hive throughout the web2 space.

Stay tuned as we adapt to this roadblock and continue building and adding more utilities and functions to POSH!

#thankselon

Sort:  

That is sad to hear, but yes LONG LIVE POSH!

Aside from discord and peakd, twitter has been my place in connecting with the HIVE community. I am meeting awesome people over twitter and actually engaging more in twitter than in other soc meds because of HIVE.

If in case POSH needs someone to help manually check and curate tweets with #HIVE on twitter, I will be a willing volunteer. Let's keep the POSH POSHING!

When life puts roadblocks just fucking smash them.
Steemychicken1

hope now one quoted it before me.

On a serious note i am sure that when the problem is solved it will be better than before. And manual curation will probably help the better posts.

What do I do when life gives me lemons?

Lemonade with stevia

Squirt your enemies in the eye with lemon juice

Twitter bleeding money so badly they can't even stick to their announced shut off times...

It's sad that these sort of projects have been killed off on Twitter due to the API changes; the prices are insane. But on the other hand I can see why they'd want to find ways to filter out the insane amounts of bots which plague the platform. Of course the easiest option would be to just financially filter them out.

While it sucks for our one idea we had to allow any non-hive account to earn posh+hive through BTC LN/ETH I think this change won't be so bad. Having people manually share their shares might bring down some of the spam/abuse we've seen over the last months as POSH gained popularity. Luckily we started our manual curation of them recently and can somewhat continue to do that and award posh tokens similarly. All in all I think the pros will over time outweigh the cons of this change, especially some other ideas we've come up with due to this change I'll discuss in a future post.

While it sucks for our one idea we had to allow any non-hive account to earn posh+hive through BTC LN

Ah man that would've been cool. And finally would've been an excuse for me to setup the LN node I've been putting off for years now, knowing it'd benefit Hive somehow. :^)

You know what they say about doors, one door closes and others open wider. So I'll keep sharing the work I think is great on Twitter. I enjoy that very much, as part of my curatorial work. A hug and let's keep going, the road is there waiting.

Oh wow! I had no idea, I thought something was wrong hahaha and I was making twts like crazy hahaha thanks man for the information.

It's sad now that I just started using frequently it has stopped 😔 but I'll keep sharing posts anyway

Long live posh! I hope things will be better soon. Posh comment was one of the best response, I got everytime when I had shared my post on Twitter. Waiting for it's fast recovery and want to know more about its sudden closure. Thanks Posh team for informing us.

Ah this explains it all now. Mixed feelings, but in the end something better always emerges.
We'll keep poshing as always, Long live #Posh🤟

Wouldn't it be easier if the volunteers checked the Posh hashtag on Twitter rather than the Hive one? There should certainly be fewer tweets to look at?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Not much fewer no but we have some good solutions in the pipeline!

I think that manual publications of the articles may lead to less spam, more awareness of the reward received and so on. So, I expect a lower amount of rewards sent to "null" addresses.

Twitter is on its way out. Trying to monetise it is killing it. Musk is just the gasoline speeding up its demise.

So sad. This will affect thousands of projects that have no remuneration whatsoever. In addition to the enormous amount of new ideas that will be frustrated by this decision of Twitter.

Yhh it's so sad to read it. Hope once things will change enough and we can tell more people about hive not only through twitter and reddit but also via other platforms!

Long live POSH! We will keep POSHing stronger and harder than ever.

It's indeed disheartening to see the @poshtoken comments coming to an abrupt halt due to Twitter's sudden API changes, I feel sad but still optimistic.

Don't worry, though, we'll be figuring something out. We're working on the website and have quite a few ideas on how to adapt to this situation. The community has also been wonderful in sharing their ideas with us of which some are really great. I'll talk about it when we've decided but currently waiting on the revamped website to be ready, so stay tuned!

As you mentioned, there are already several ideas being discussed, and I am excited to see how the community adapts and innovates in response to this challenge. I am sure that we'll come up with creative solutions to keep promoting Hive.

I am optimistic about the future of POSH and Hive, and I believe that, together, we can turn this roadblock into an opportunity for growth and improvement. Looking forward to seeing the exciting changes and developments that lie ahead!

POSH is such a fantastic project and all this is happening because of the sudden change by Twitter.
So we can continue to share the posts as usual?
I am also looking forward to see what will the next idea to deal with this situation

This is so sad to read. Long live posh.

This is so bad, and I just started poshing

Let's go ahead, it's only fear and make us stronger, let's go to the moon...

untitled.gif

well i will keep sharing my posts on twitter with or without posh rewards :) after all every new soul we can bring to hive is a saved soul :)

I have been faithful to the promotions and will continue to do so, no sadness, with everyone's support we will move forward and some solution will be achieved to continue promoting our partners who create excellent content and our wonderful Hive.

So all my support. We will continue growing and towards the top.

I will keep posting on twitter so you can keep on knowing hive, and the valuable content will have more views and reach.

Thank you very much for all your hard work @acidyo 💕

I will be attentive to new information and decisions.

Greetings, and the success will continue, be sure of it ✨

Thank you for the information team work of Posh, i will stay tune for any news you give to us, i will share this information with my group of friends inmediately specially my muchachona @elbuhito because she like a lot to share posts she see and enjoy in hive, this information will bring a big relieve for her because she was worried, we like the proyect posh and we thrust in you friends 😃/

Muchachonas read completely this information @sugeily2 @avdesing @aibi93 @stellamartinez keep sharing the great content you do and of your friends in twitter

That's right @promete0sz, just as I told you yesterday, keep publishing the tweets and the link in the comments of our posts and keep supporting the #HIVE ecosystem.

Thank you very much!

I'm not sure what all suggestions have been put forward but I also use mastadon and MeWe so having posh on either or both would be great and could bring more people to hive.