The Sea and the Apartments (Art Process Blog)

in #posh3 years ago

Hello everyone! For today, I would like to share to you all one of the artworks I made during my free time. Well, lately I had a lot of free time because I work at home. I got to splurge myself with two hours that I was able to save from commuting. I really cannot wait for the day when I could just work full time on making art.

20210703_220626.jpg

Anyway, on the top you could see my finish product. If I did not slept on my Oppo F4 phone, I could have gotten a crisper photo than this.

Background of Work
I decided to paint on a Saturday morning while being on a meeting with the youth organization that I was working with. I knew there were a lot of things to be discussed so I decided to grab a watercolor paper, washi tape, pencil, gouache paint, and a small paintbrush. I then scanned through Google and looked for a nice place to paint. I then ended up looking on random photos that were shot around Europe. And so I ended up wanting to paint this scene either from Greece or Italy. I'm sorry, I forgot. Anyway, either of the two have great places to see. Perhaps after all these problems brought by the COVID19 pandemic.

20210605_210356.jpg

Before I started sketching, I primed the watercolor paper with White Gouache. I really was not sure it would make a difference, but yeah, whatever.

20210605_210706.jpg
I then painted the skies with light blue mixed with a hint of purple.

20210605_210907.jpg

Upon checking my initial progress, I realized that the proportion I decided would take a lot of spaces for the sky so I decided to adjust that by covering it with a fine gouache paint. I almost forgot that above the apartments or establishments, there was a palace.

20210605_211204.jpg

20210605_211816.jpg

20210605_211924.jpg

20210605_212414.jpg

20210605_213308.jpg

After having an idea where the placements of every building should be, I started painting those somewhat tall buildings into a variety of lively colors.

On the top, you could also see that I had been working on the palace.

Just to share something to you, I only saw palaces few times. I mean when I was in Singapore and Malaysia, I think I saw some. When I was also in the Metro of the country, I got to pass by to the Malacanan Palace. On the other hand, I was able to visit the Coconut Palace of the Philippines. It is where the Vice President should be living but due to preference, a lot of the past Vice Presidents opted to live somewhere else. The Coconut Palace has since then just been a tourist spot.

20210605_213713.jpg

20210605_214134.jpg

20210605_214921.jpg

20210605_220755.jpg

20210605_221632.jpg

The palace has been taking a lot of my time because for one, it has a lot of small/ intricate details. I also had been working on the right corner of my gouache painting. I was visualizing how lovely and detailed should the buildings look so I decided to work on it.

I wanted to finish this artwork as soon as possible but I guess I was wrong. With this artwork, I learned that some things would require a lot of time and thinking. I could not just work on this full time because I needed to tend a lot of things while at home. And even I am on a work from home schedule three times a week, I need to make a lot of output, because that's the way it really is when you are working in an office.

Day 02!
Because as I mentioned, I could not work continuously with my artworks, it took me several days before I decided I needed to get back on this artwork and finish it so that I would be at ease.

20210703_181426.jpg

I took my two different gouache sets. You can see how messy my table could get. Well, I am planning to buy a new table which is the L-Shape type. It is not just aesthetically pleasing for me, but it would be a great addition to my bedroom/ art studio.

20210703_181753.jpg

20210703_185348.jpg

20210703_191431.jpg

I am so glad that line brushes were invented so that people like me could create thin lines or include small or intricate details in our works.

20210703_191438.jpg

20210703_201729.jpg

I really wanted to capture all of the progress in this work, but I ended up taking a Facebook Live while working on this artwork. Perhaps next time I could go live on Twitch, or record my work and post it over d.live.

20210703_220749.jpg

And voila! After a total of five hours of working on this artwork, I am finally done. I know my work is not flawless like from other artists, but the mere fact that I got to finish it after all the bad things that happened to me and all the great things that made me busy, it makes me happy and fulfilled.

If there would be a lot of people who would be supporting my art venture, I might just work as a full time artist and be happy about it. For the meantime, during my spare time, I would love to learn more from other artists and incorporate their style with mine. Such assimilation in art would be very interesting.

As always, thank you for the endless support. I love you, guys.

Art your service,
Johanna Gail


Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.