Forest Hike- My findings

in #posh4 years ago

During this weekend I had the opportunity to visit the nature reserve Naturconde, which is in Vila do Conde, Portugal. The Park has a forest area and is located near the beach. I took my camera with me in the hope of getting some decent photos. So here are the results:

IMG_5069.JPG

First animal I managed to see was this Common Black Bird (Turdus merula). There were plenty of birds around going by the noise, although it was easier to hear them than it was to see. There were also plenty of birdhouses around, they were installed here to give them plenty of places to shelter to help establish a healthy bird population.

IMG_5114.JPG
IMG_3571.JPG

I also found a couple of insects as well. One bug who belongs to the Diptera order (that is the order that flies and mosquitos belong too), I have yet to determine the species. And two butterflies

IMG_5090.JPG
IMG_5096.JPG
IMG_5111.JPG

I continued along this path
IMG_5123.JPG
IMG_5115.JPG

The signs indicate the paths the dunes, the short and long forest routs respectively.
After passing that is then when I came face to face with this little guy:

IMG_5081.JPG

I think it might be Carbonell´s Wall Lizard (Podarcis carbonelli) although I could be wrong as there are other species similar to it. But it´s adapted to cooler climates and dune areas and has a stable population along the Atlantic coast.

Basically, it was a good day for photo hunting. I´m glad I did not leave the place empty-handed. That ´s the fun part of going to places like this, you´ll never know what you´ll find.
#amazingnature

Sort:  

I think your 'unknown fly' is a type of Robber Fly (Family - Asilidae, also called assassin flies). I don't which species your lizard is although I would agree it looks similar to your link to the Carbonell's Wall Lizard. Lovely pictures, thanks for sharing 😀