How to put add a picture like everybody else does

in #post8 years ago

First, I saved an image from the internet into my downloads file then copied the address of the file in downloads. Then, when submitting a story, I clicked on "editor" in the top right corner which added some promising looking icon tool buttons. I clicked on "image" and pasted the address of the file in downloads -  /home/bta/Downloads/blind_justice.jpg. 


That created an error code that my image address was not valid - it had to be "https://".


OK, so how do I remove that invalid image address?! I clicked on "clear". I tried submitting ANOTHER story, I logged out then logged back in. 


I clicked on the image icon then clicked on clear. AH HA, that worked. I was back to a blank page with no error codes when I clicked on "post" - right? I had to to have a story to post to find out.


OK, next I searched on the internet for the image I wanted to post and found a safe, legitimate, secure, blah blah blah image here:  

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lady_Justice#/media/File:HK_Central_Statue_Square_Legislative_Council_Building_n_Themis_s.jpg

BUT, I could  not put it in the title or subject window at the top of the page, that created an error message about markdowns. What is a markdown? No, I don't really want to know how the word "markdown" is related to the web address of an image when posting it in the subject of my submitted story. But, THAT did not work. 


So, I put the image in the body of the story. And posted it. It posted! !! !!! (one "!" was not enough) 


But... there was no picture... in front of my story... like everybody else had. I am STILL not running with the big dogs: I don't even know how to get off the porch.

Sort:  

I had the same problem and friend of me told me to use https://postimg.org . From there I copy the Markdown code and paste in the text.

Select image, find "share" option (maybe share or EMBED), choose embed. Copy and paste that FIRST, then add text!! Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah!!