Should I Bother Posting at Steem?

in #posts7 years ago

I am new and when I first got here I was very excited but two of three things I posted vanished within hours of posting them. I mean, they're GONE, just gone, no idea WTF happened. It just makes me not want to post at all. I asked about it but didn't get a single reply, likely won't from this inquiry either. 

I don't get the hype this place is generating. 

The experience has me wondering what the scam is.

I'm sure I just don't "get it" but without any help or support, it's likely I never will. 

Meh, whatever. Steemits loss I guess.

Sort:  

Yeah. It's tough getting started on a new platform especially one in beta version like Steemit. I really wish more people got the chance to see my posts too. If you look in your "BLOG" section are your posts there? Because you may not be able to see them in the feed but they should still be on the site.

I've only been here for less then a week so i really can't give much advice. I'm still trying to learn the platform which seems pretty complicated. I think the best thing to do is post once a day and keep doing it. But you really have to get involved if you want anyone to see your stuff. You've gotta go digging around for articles you're into, start following people who's stuff you like or you meet and slowly you'll get a following and you'll get some pretty cool posts on your homepage.
It certainly takes a commitment though. But it's also the only place I've found that I can make a bit of money online. I mean .02 for an article is pretty bad but it's better then no cents like i was getting on Medium.
Good Luck! Persevere!

THIS^^^.

Great, great post. I'll be following you.

Thank you for your reply. Yea I did look in the blog part and the posts are not there. It makes it difficult to be inspired to post if the posts are just going to vanish. It isn't as much about people seeing my stuff, it's more about it vanishing...I mean, where did it go? I will persevere, I'm stubborn like that, lol. I just am unsure what to do if I start posting every day only for the posts to vanish.

I write all mine on word first and then copy and paste so that things don't get lost. I've lost way too many things on computers and it is surely the most aggravating thing in the world. Don't write your stuff on the browser it'll inevitably get lost. Especially since posting on Steemit isn't exactly user friendly, it's kinda more for techy people with all that code-y stuff : P

Yup, that already IS the way I do it, cut and paste and still, they vanish. This isn't my first day, lol. I'm not new to computers nor the internet, just to steemit. I have used a lot of platforms and none of them have been so problematic. I also get that it's in beta, then, so is minds.com and I haven't had any problems like this there. I appreciate folks trying to help but it doesn't seem anyone is getting exactly what the problem is. It's cool, no worries, I'll figure it out.

Thank you, I needed that too. I read somewhere that using all your 5 hashtags might not be such a good idea, it came from a successful Steemit blogger so that is something I will look into more. But any advice is nice and I will be following your posts too!!! We need all the help we can get to get of to a good start......

i didn't know that about the hashtags, interesting.

Couple things. One, do an intro post, and tell us about yourself. Those posts get a lot more attention than other things. We want to welcome people here.

Two, post every day for two months, then talk about how you don't get it. There are a lot of good things out there you can't see results from in 24 hours. This is one of them.

I did do an intro post, it vanished so I did another, can't find that one either. It isn't that I "don't get it" I am learning the platform and don't pretend to totally understand it yet but again, it isn't as though I'm bugged out about not seeing results in 24 hours, it's about the fact that out of 5 posts, only 1 is still there. They vanish in minutes, not hours and they are nowhere to be found.

That is fairly bizarre. I don't think I've heard of anything like that before. I'm not even entirely sure how it can happen. But I see only three posts for you.

It isn't a big deal, I'll figure it out. I'm kinda stubborn that way. I use computers, computers don't use me, lol! I appreciate your time though, thanks.

You got it. I'm around every day. I'll be watching.

Probably not. It's very hard to get visibility on steem. Reddit is worse due to mods, but steems volume and sorting of categories makes it very difficult to separate crap from wortwhile content.

I'm used to it taking time for visibility, that isn't the issue, it's about posts vanishing. Not a fan of that. It can only get better I suppose.

Beautiful post