You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What makes a person powerful?

in #power4 years ago

Interesting analysis.

My view of power is much different than yours though.

To me a powerful thing, person or otherwise, is one that does a lot of work in a short amount of time. Of course, work is the product of a force and the displacement it causes.

This is the same kind of power that hauls your body out of bed, and flings a car down the street. I'm talking about pure wattage. The type of power the sun screams out into space which falls to the earth and makes my fingers bounce around on this keyboard, among other things. By that reckoning, all people are fairly equal. There are variations, but not even an order of magnitude variance I'd say in the amount of work one could do in a given time. Whether they actually do or not is a different story.

Any other 'power' is a pale illusion by comparison. Social influence, prestige, and respect are as tenuous and ephemeral as love, unicorns. Mickey Mouse, or one's identity. Which is to say they do not exist, or at least not as the moon or the biosphere exist.

It's just a silly game we play with each-other, not something that is concretely manifest in the universe, no matter how immersed we get in the role play.

Sort:  

I wish I could see things in the same empirical sense as you do. From the "wattage" perspective, it certainly makes sense and the disparities in power between all people indeed have comparatively little variation - it makes me think of Dragonball Z (ever watch that?) - but at the same time, having this immaterial power that I speak of can also effectively multiply the amount of "work done" with respect to your pursuits.

Yeah, I have seen Dragonball Z. I like that parallel too. It's amusing and basically captures what I was talking about.

I recognize that seemingly multiplicative effect as well. However while you could certainly see more force applied over greater displacement in a shorter time by exercise of this immaterial power, it's highly contingent and not really 'your' power.

I could almost certainly do essentially nil to upend a car alone, but a dozen or so of my friends cooperating at my direction could roll a car like a powerful tornado. Yet that depends on being able to communicate, schedule a meet up, motivate everyone, not having inclement weather, etc. etc. etc.

In short it's flimsy and unreliable.

On top of that I'd only ever really have my own power under my control, not the power of a dozen people. They all remain firmly at the helm of their own personal wattage, able to withdraw or deploy it in this pursuit or any other at a whim.

In terms of focusing and multiplying material power, tools alone are much more effective and reliable than immaterial power alone.