I Just POWER'd Up Some STEEM, and It Felt GREAT!

in #power7 years ago (edited)

The BTC market has been on a roller coaster the past few days.... mostly up, but it seem like whenever I buy more BTC it proceeds to drop like a rock, and I'm scrambling to get into alts before the bottom drops out. Same thing with Ether, as it seems to know when I'm about to buy the price will shoot up, and vice versa on the downside. Perhaps I'm just superstitious, but something weird seems to be going on.

Anyways, I thought I had an arbitrage opportunity on Polo, but it fizzled before I could get BTC to the exchange, so I ended up coming back to Bittrex and I realized how much I dislike Polo, and for the time being I really like the liquidity and user interface in Bittrex. If we could put the same Bittrex GUI front end on the Bitshares DEX running on EOS.... now that would be cool.

While my BTC was sitting on Polo which took a really long to get there and get the confirmations, and I was at heightened alert, I thought about picking up some 0x as I think Ethfinex is going to be the bees knees. It's hard to speculate on these things, and while it has a $90m market cap, who knows how many things are going on under the covers, and I have to be able to sleep at night without checking my Blockfolio every 10 minutes, so.........

I POWER'd UP on Steem!

While I didn't get the absolute bottom, I got in a $.95US which I hope will turn out to be a good decision in the long run.

Man, it really feels good to get me some STEEM POWER. My steem profile has been slow going thus far. I have 43 followers so far, about 40 of which are robots, but I'll still take them and appreciate the bot support. I saw a meet-up post for some real-life Steemians in Idaho who went out for some burgers, and I thought that looked cool, so I hope more meet-ups are happening around the globe to help promote crypto in general, and Steem.

Once folks get up to speed on how Steem works, they will naturally be inquisitive about Bitshares, EOS, and beyond so I think Steem is great entry ramp. If I were @Ned, I would be growing the development team like crazy, spending and investing now to take advantage of the first mover advantage in the social networking space and using the business model in newspaper applications. I like SMTs but I would worry there are too many directions to go, and at some point you just have to pick one, and grow like crazy in the area of your core competency. Amazon started in books, but now every market is their core competency, because they apply their unique business model to annihilate status quo markets. Granted, they didn't have to report any profits for a long time and the market did not penalize them, but they quickly grew, created a great end user experience, and absolutely wiped out their competition.

Anyways, I'm glad I powered up, and I think Jerry Banfield would be glad too. I root for Jerry and everyone that has bet the farm on Steem. I think a point that is missed for the Steemfest in Portugal, is that they pay you back in Steem, a couple hundred dollars worth for attending. That is a crazy revolutionary concept that might take some time to digest. My current rewards of 0.049 SBD and 0.076 SP might not seem like much, but check back with me in 1 yr and we can see how much the community has grown.

()