Well, I did it. I powered down.

in #powerdown6 years ago

That's probably going to make some people sad. Especially if you actually like my work.

man.jpg

In the beginning, I remember saying I had no plans on powering down. And I didn't.

Nope. I don't need the cash. But since I get to control that Steem for now, then I might as well use it for something or someone else who could actually use it.

I know it will take 13 weeks to suck it all out. That's OK. Not worried about it. Not really.

I don't know how much longer I'll be active on this platform or what I will use it for.

If I step away and abandon my account altogether, I might come back in the future and approach the platform differently.

It was a good learning experience. I learned some of the ins and outs, what I like, what I don't like, what I think is awesome and found what really isn't going to change any time soon.

I didn't think this would have been a platform where you can be literally picked apart (downvoted) for telling the truth or for being authentic. I don't have time for certain toxic behaviors in my life.

Cyberspace is no different in that regards.

If it was honest criticism that's one thing -- but for people just to be dicks because they literally must have nothing better to do with their time is honestly just sad. To all you who fit in that category -- grow a pair -- and some self-awareness while you're at it.

Maybe I just haven't found my tribe or found a way to interact with the platform that works well for me.

But then again, as a new person, how could I have known any of these underlying things? None of it is advertised when you're encouraged to join.

And this is probably why so many come and leave so soon afterwards, why "steemicide" is so prevalent.

I don't need to fight. I just want to fit. Maybe I don't fit or "belong" anywhere...

Only time will tell.

Image source: unsplash, pexels, or pixabay. I don't remember which one I got that pic from. I've used it before.

Sort:  

There is a reason for the 7.5% retention rate Steemit exhibits, and your post illustrates some of them. I am presently encouraging a flagger that never posts or comments (completely insulating them from flags) to voice their criticism, so that the community, as well as myself, might be informed as to their purpose in flagging me.

How can I improve without criticism? It is my most valued currency, and much of why I post. Like you I don't care much about money. Being right and just is far more important to me, and I hope that being flagged helps me to attain to those benefits, which it can only do if accompanied by forthright criticism.

I hope you find it possible to endure the problems Steemit presently suffers. I like the way you think, and would like to hear more of your thinking, which I will not if you quit posting and commenting.

Peace!

I agree. Honest critiscim is necessary for growth. It's been my experience though when those who put you down don't bother voicing actual facts or points of view, they fall into the second category: dicks to be dicks -- and I've found it's never worth my time getting them to explain. Those people actually thrive off someone trying to get them to do just that. They enjoy the fact that they caused the other person to "beg" for their attention. All in all -- it's sad.

I'm glad you enjoy the way I think. I think I just need to step away for awhile to decide later on what I will do.

if you need anything ask away :P

people are downvoters, well it's a long story if I start getting into it...
https://steemd.com/@sucemabite

dude whatever it's 4 "downvotes" from 4 shitty accounts, why do you care, you've gotten 1000:1 in upvotes .... 4 :) don't worry about it, get a Discord and chat up, usually you can do 200 things around here :D

@miklkent you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank you!

Congratulations @miklkent! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm not sure why you specifically unfollowed me. It doesn't matter though. This place has a lot of problems, but at least it isn't filled with pedophiles, censorship, and content filtering like Twitter and Fascistbook are. The price of STEEM is on the rise again. If you can do it, I'd hold a bit longer before selling. Perhaps we'll meet up again on another battlefield in the future. Until then... goodbye.

Unfollowing you specifically, wasn't personal. It wasn't for anyone I unfollowed. I pairing down and backing off. And I'm not looking to be on a platform that's a battlefield. I wanted to enjoy myself here and I'm genuinely not enjoying myself here despite my efforts, attempted work-arounds, and joining (and subsequently being overwhelmed and stressed out with Discord -- and then unjoining that). It's just not resonating with me -- maybe it will feel better in the future.

I need a respite from the things I experience IRL on a regular basis. I was hoping this platform would allow that or give me that or something. Maybe I don't even know anymore what I expected. But when I come here, I just feel angst, competition, control, uphill (for lack of better verbiage) -- battles, and manipulation -- just based in how the platform is structured in and of itself.

It forces people to be those things in order to "succeed." I see it. I deal with that in the corporate world, have dealt with it in the past on social medias. I don't want that where there is supposed to be community.

And I thought Steemit was supposed to be the community -- not Discord. Doesn't anybody even hear the irony in the name "Discord"? It's the opposite of harmony.

Unfollowing you wasn't personal.

Before I'm all powered down, I'll probably unfollow the rest too.

I don't really care about the price of Steem. I never have. I just thought it was gravy -- like a little bit you get to go to the movies or buy junkfood like when you did when you were a kid. I never came here to make a full-time living.

Those of us that deal with family court on a regular basis -- can't, unless they can specifically fight with the courts, their lawyers, the opposing parties lawyers and a judge who just isn't in the mood do all the damn math --and convince them that you're account really isn't worth whatever your ex claimed it was on the last round of papers that were filed ---- and afford it --- oh and maybe succeed.

No thank you. That drama is not cost effective for me. So it was never about the Steem.

Unfollowing wasn't meant to offend. I should probably make this a post in case anyone else wants to see it too.

I thank you for your reply. The only real good that has come out of using Discord for me has been GINAbot. That is how I saw that you unfollowed me. I completely agree about Discord. At one point, I was in 20 different servers. That's ridiculous. Everyone had their own little tribe with its own mission. We should have communities and chat on Steemit instead. Maybe the platform cannot support that though.

Sometimes I think the answer is to simply walk away from all of this. This being social media. I just don't see how it is actually helping much. It is too easy for controlled opposition to take the largest group of people down the wrong path. No amount of shouting to those well programmed robots will get them to turn around either.

It just isn't worth the cost to an individual and their family. After all... the time we spend on here is time we are not spending in nature and with our children and loved ones. Really, the only thing that keeps me here is my passion in life, and that's residential security and being a PI. I can't really pursue those things without at least a little engagement online.

Again, thanks for your thoughtful reply. I really appreciate it! Hopefully, things will change in the future, and we'll meet again in better circumstances!