You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Power Down Time

in #powerdown3 years ago (edited)

I think at some point long ago I suggested something similar when it comes to dispersing what you're now calling 'taxes' to current, confident, stakeholders, rather than burning.

These shortened periods or instant powerdown when combined with this social setting, the shit talkers, and emotional reactions; that combo kind of freaks me out. One rumor or some bad press (fact or fiction) could send people scrambling for the door. Monkey see, monkey do, so more join in. Three weeks later the smoke clears, everyone finds out it just bunk, but the damage is done. Confident holders don't gain from these taxes in that worst case scenario. Governance gets chipped away, combined with falling token value. Then we find out those behind the rumor are the ones attempting a Justin Sun sized dick move. One well executed smear campaign is one hell of a lot cheaper than buying millions of tokens at full price and attempting to take over that way. Not saying that will happen and I've left out plenty of details for good reason. But if I was an evil super genius, that's what I'd do if I felt like fucking this place over.

People benefit from getting others rattled in crypto, damn near daily. Even some random plagiarists or scammers getting downvoted then convincing others around them the sky is falling because downvotes could be enough to shake off a few minnows and dolphins.

So I'm a bit concerned but that's some worst case scenario shit. I'm sure we'll be safe flying our unicorns over the rainbows for years to come and this change will suddenly make the entirety of the crypto sphere finally pay more attention and load up on Hive because finally, it's just like everything else and that's all they wanted, or whatever, as our content remains void of an audience because there's no need to have paying consumers interested in our actual products when we have investors looking to make a quick buck.

Relax. I was joking there.


Edit: Just over a year later and one can see that actually happening now on another chain.

Sort:  

I appreciate you have a viewpoint I don't when it comes to the functionality of this "product." And I can be overly focused on tokenomics. I'm building the SPK network to help fill some voids for Hive, easy signup standard all can opt into, and "SMTs" but more like erc20s on Hive. I believe once we give people the chance to build their world, which includes a token, you'll see the platform grow.

We are a decentralised organization. We also need people who focus on keeping the lights on, making the token value grow, and attracting all people, and that includes investors and artists. I do like a lot of your suggestions, how the consumer virtually gets free entertainment for life if played right. How content creators can tip their audience to get buts in the seat to start a virtuous cycle. And I want to encourage that, even do some marketing on making people aware of that angle. But it's important, to me at least, to try and make sure we are at least doing the best job possible to not alienate potential investors when we need not to.

I haven't even minted an NFT. Part of the reason is because I look at the business model and feel it's old fashioned/outdated. Consumers going back to throwing that money away on entertainment and supporting their favs. The way content is created and consumed has changed. We don't wait years between albums now. We got fresh shit coming in weekly, sometimes daily. So that requires a new support system. You're one of the rare few who can kinda see what I see in that regard.

I understand and respect the fact all play some sort of pivotal role in this. Of course it's unwise to alienate the customers.

LOL. I've become a bit alienated. Not interested much in crypto anymore, but absolutely adore this project here. But not everything, like most people.

My content is a product found on Hive. Those NFT's; products. Your SPK network; product on Hive. All these second layer tokens are products found on Hive. And so on. I like how this list is getting long, offering more and more to potential consumers/investors of Hive. Meaning at some point attracting new money in the door should be a given.

A lot of confusion though. Holding all this Hive, making sacrifices, for years. I see you have more but we both know the feeling of sacrifice remains the same, regardless. It is, what it is. I'll admit your project with all the tokens and tokenomics confused the living fuck out of me to the point where I nearly lost interest. Other projects requiring I own tokens I've not even heard of in order receive an airdrop to be able to support a community I would have been interested in, making it impossible for me to support it, unless I sell HIVE to buy something else that is literally the same thing, but a different name. Then I have other tokens in my wallet and I don't even know how the fuck they got there or what they're for. And one human, in a day, with all these different little tokens and communities; it's impossible to support them all and get a reasonable amount in return, unless I delegate it away to a curation bot of sorts, meaning that community just lost a customer yet the customer still earns benefits.

So when we're done fiddling with knobs and twisting dials, again, let's sit down and try to sort this shit out, for the consumer/investor. That hackmd link up there. Is that a Hive product? Been here nearly five years and don't have the first clue about what's what anymore. Wrote this post last year for a reason. The problem I tried to highlight has only gotten far worse since then. It's now all turning into a consumer's nightmare and that will never sit well with me.

Ya, that post of yours was a home run. I remember when I first read it. It sparked the idea to fork a browser and have a Hive browser with all apps accessible on some right hand menu, as you said in your post. To create a synergy, a home, a entry point that leads people down various rabbit trails.

The SPK Network will bring a lot of cool back end stuff to Hive, oracles, cross chain decentralised gateways, just cool stuff. But what's cool stuff without connecting it all together. It's like having a cool looking puzzle piece that's separated from the rest.

I'll try and build something cool that displays all you can do on Hive. We have some many unknown projects that may or may not be awesome. Such a waste if we dont curate them

See, I'm not a developer but I'm creative and if I had chosen that path earlier on in life, I'd be able to offer more in that department, rather than just ideas and concepts. But I reveal my thoughts, even though they can be scattered at times, because I feel that's being a team player. So if I was developing an app or something/anything, I'd include code that plugs in somehow to popular front ends, rather than making a new one entirely to serve one purpose. Then whoever is calling the shots for whichever front end could review the product or whatever, add it to this section of their front end that is easily accessible and right under the noses of folks browsing around. Then they don't need to focus on creating awareness within the community or suffering from being a great project that somehow flew under the radar.

Still, your take on it would work. But then what if that particular front end/project suffers the same problem. It's off to the side and away from the social setting many seem to frequent. As a consumer of video content on Hive from time to time for instance, I need to tell you I've only visited the official 3speak site maybe five times in my entire life. If I want to browse content found in specific tribes, I simply click the tags commonly used, then browse on PeakD. And this isn't out of laziness, it's because it's simple and convenient.

So if you do work on that project that attempts to sort things out I'd suggest making damn sure there's a massive button that one can't miss sitting nicely at the top or side or somewhere in a place like PeakD, Hive.blog, whatever. It could come standard with the tribe sites as well. Damn near everything should have that button, somewhere, obvious. All it really is a simple link leading to more links and back.

Man. I talk too much and I apologize for being all off topic here while the community is busy trying wrap their heads around some new concepts. I'm 99% sure I suggested dispersing fees in this fashion at some point in the past, you saw it, and your response was something about me playing 4D chess, but at the same time, it's possible I'm blending a few memories and that never happened. Just seems so damn familiar like I been here before.