You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ChillQuill Lights Up The Quill Grill ... "QuillFire Roast or Toast" Contest (Daughter's Edition ... My 1st Steemit Post)

NickyHavey,

So you are the famous Nicky Havey. Dad thinks you have an incredible gift for satire and he considers satire and poetry the highest forms of writing.

I actually can't tell if this is really Quill's daughter or Quill himself as the writing style is EXACTLY the same.

I didn't know how to use the Steemit editor, which is unbelievably backward btw, so I had to go to him to get the post out. In the process, a "few edits" got made. I am, after all, The Quill Daughter, so everything had to be perfect.

Dad often preaches that Great Writers must have a Voice. But, before developing their Voice, they must first learn how to write beautifully. To do that, they must study the Masters. And so, he studies Shakespeare and I study him. My Voice is different than his but there are a lot of similarities. It wasn't my teachers who taught me how to read and write.

The thing I struggle with most is humor and so I ask him for advice all the time. Humor is hard. Too much, or too little, ruins things.

I see you have a PhD. I think you should make Dad start calling you "Doctor." You earned it and so has he.

ChillQuill

Sort:  
Loading...