The search for more bang

in #prepper7 years ago

Ran across this information on my fb feed from "We are the mighty" post. Apparently the search is on for a replacement weapon and the for the 556.

https://www.fbo.gov/index?s=opportunity&mode=form&id=c3a0df63ed769522a0cdf3df867774e8&tab=core&_cview=1

The criteria for replacement is as follows (taken from the above link):

  1. Caliber - 7.62x51mm
  2. Semi and Full automatic selectable
  3. Suppressor capable
  4. Safety - Contractor must provide a detailed System Safety Assessment Report in accordance with Data Item Description (DID) attached to this announcement (Attachment 0002) in order to confirm the weapon will pass safety testing.

Also of interesting note is the following:

20-30 round magazine to support a 210 round combat load

Personally I have wanted something in 762 x 51 for a while and have considered buying the parts and piecing one together (AR-15/AR-10). The "battle rifle" has always been this mythical creature that would seem to cover a broad spectrum situations from defense to hunting to reptilian alien invasion. Price has been the factor for me, parts ammunition etc. That and I just purchased an upper in 300blk so I would like to finish that first. I see saw between a build and just buying a decent Fal or PTR 91 or even a Vepr. (work gets boring sometimes I gotta free the mind be a peacock and fly...you understand)

As for why the military is "really"looking for one is still questionable (to me anyways). I see what they are saying in how it all pertains to the average soldier being out ranged by other forces with larger caliber weapons. Looking out at the world though I cant think of an organized force that employs larger far flying rounds, other than those we are already at war with. I'm getting a read between the lines vibe from the need to step up to a larger round/platform. Are we facing a more armored foe? Is this foe farther away and the knockdown power really needed? Or are we just looking for a weapon more akin to fighting the last war? Do we need an excuse to spend more money? Is the current weapon system out dated and at the end of its life span? I could go on.

In the end if the M4 is replaced, I think this new rifle will be a variant and that it will end up sharing more parts and design with the M4 it replaces as opposed to an entirely new rifle. Just my cents though. It would be cheaper too.

What say yall?

Disclaimer. I am a Navy veteran who enjoys shooting collecting, researching and daydreaming about builds and weapons tech old and new ( one day ill make a post about swords and non bang weaponry). That said I do not profess to any combat experience, never been shot at, never shot at anyone (pray to God I never have to). My opinions are just that opinions. Please feel free to share yours and completely destroy mine in the process. My hope is to share what little knowledge I have and gain more in the process. Disclaimer over.

IMG_3224.JPG
Obligatory pic of one of my AR's Post #2

Sort:  

Thank you for posting

And you for commenting!