Make Your Own MREs For SHTF Scenarios, and for Camping, or Hiking

in #prepping5 years ago (edited)

Shite.jpeg

MRE diy.jpg

I have recently been experimenting with making my own MREs.

We have so many shelf stable options nowadays. One thing I need to look for is shelf stable bread. Perhaps some ready to eat pizza dough would work. So many options.

One thing I want to do here is to make one MRE last all day.

Modern propaganda says we need three meals, and 2000-3000 kcals a day. (For me I think 1000 kcals is plenty.) During an emergency situation, I am aware of the psychological component, ie comfort food. In my case I think having several packets of tea, and some coffee, would go a long way towards raising my comfort level.

Watching plants grow from seeds, is to witness the miracle of life happening, right before your eyes.

One area of MREs that is lacking entirely is fresh fruits, and vegetables. I propose we include some sproutable seeds, such as alfalfa, or clover. So many options here again. What I like about sprouting is the food is ALIVE and bursting with micronutrients. Pack a few seeds, along with a ziplock bag, or plastic jar, and we can microgarden anywhere. This gives us something to do, and supplies fresh food. One tablespoon of seeds can totally pack a pint container.

Using a vacuum sealer to enclose the MRE contents will keep it fresher, and make package smaller.

Or, just use a really heavy duty ziplock. What I really like about this DIY project is we can put the foods we like in it. About half of what is in a store bought MRE is not very desirable. We can avoid GMOs, and artificial ingredients by putting MREs together ourselves.

These ready to eat meals are also handy for camping, hiking, or daytripping, if the shite never drops.

"Be Prepared"

Boy Scout Slogan

Later, Cy

Sort:  

Congratulations @binaryflat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!