The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 18

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 18 for my test of Mountain House food packets as emergency food, The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet. Lots of preppers recommend storing food for a disaster; this series tests it out. As detailed earlier, this diet has turned into a weight-loss diet too.

The upside-down sleep-wake schedule I've been going through is diminishing, like a sickness does. Perhaps it was the February blahs, and sunny weather has done its part. It could also be the exigencies of the diet: today was better than yesterday except for what the scale shows. Or perhaps, it's anticipation about going to the Blockchain & Quantum Computing Meetup this evening. Hard to tell causation, but doing something new correlates with perking up.

Today's Meals

The breakfast was the Granola with Blueberries and Milk:

This particular packet, I got a bit unlucky. I stirred the half cup of cold water in as per usual:

but the blueberries for this one were a little crunchy and there was more excess fluid than usual. This was the first time that the berries were crunchy instead of soft, so it looks like a luck-of-the-draw matter. It was still edible. I might have stirred it sloppily.

The dinner was Turkey Tetrazzini:

As with the others, this one took two cups of boiling water and less than ten minutes of waiting time. As per the luck of the draw, it took some digging to get the oxygen absorber packet out. Leaving it in doesn't affect the meal, but does make you stop and deposit a wet packet into the nearby garbage.

The water thickened into sauce when the wait was over:

More luck of the draw: the turkey parts, though generous, had a few tough ones. Other than that, and a wee bit of gristle, it was a good-tasting meal: same quality as a well-prepared frozen dinner.

The Nutrition Facts boxes, with the granola on the left and turkey dinner on the right, show:

the calories for this day's meals was on the low side but the vitamin C was not. It was one of those unusual days when the sodium total came in at below the daily recommendation :)

Speaking of vitamins, I haven't noticed any sign of vitamin deficiency unless my graveyard-shift jag is a symptom. The deficits in calories and certain nutrients do make these packets "Emergency Food," but they seem to have enough to get a person by, at least for two-and-a-half weeks and probably for the full month.

As indicated above, my weight did bounce up:

but it bounced from a number that was unusually low. Even with today's bounce-up, I've lost about one pound per day: that's a rate which is too fast to be true. Just as with a cryptocurrency pump, it's wise to treat a quick leap (in weight, a rapid drop) as too good to last.

Effects, So Far:

Maybe there is something to the no-pain-no-gain process. I'm on the way to getting back to a normal routine, there's nothing to grumble about - and my weight rose. Since I've already racked up a respectable loss, the gain in mood is worth the step-back in weight.

This tradeoff might be true of dieting in general. If so, plateauing or reversal does have its upside - especially if you step back and think of how you've done over the entire course of the diet.

Conclusion

The quality of the food dipped a bit today, but it was still good to eat; given that the food is normally good-tasting and well-prepared, I chalk the foregoing up to outliers. Not that big a deal, just worth noting. My mood and weight rebounded, a correlation that's popped up vice-versa. There's a chance that I may stay stuck at this weight for a few days; when stuck in that leveling, it helps to remember the overall gains.

As I said above, I posted this entry early because I'm off to the Blockchain & Quantum Computing Meetup. I hope to post about what I saw and heard there.

Thanks for reading.

And feel free to comment below!

Day 0
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13
Day 14
Day 15
Day 16
Day 17
Day 18
Day 19
Day 20
Day 21
Day 22
Day 23
Day 24

Sort:  

it's weird that there is so much inconsistency even within the same bucket of mountain house. I look forward to reading this every day, I am going to be a little sad when you go back to eating normal food. Just when I am feeling all pissed off at steemit I see the blue packet like the light at the end of the tunnel.

Yeah, I didn't think about what to do once this comes to an end. Thanks.

start a new project! solar energy, wind power, whatever ;>

Ron Paul does sell a home freeze drying machine

Glad to see your post and I am happy that your gaining your spirit back way to go hang in there you can do it. Hope you have a great night at the meet up again let us know how it went. Great post 😁👍👏👏👏👏👏keep it up and steem on..

Im glad your still hanging there @nxtblg ! and hope you have a great meet up ! thanks a bunch for resteeming my #popcontest post ! Upped and Resteemed back my friend , No Pain No Gain Lol!! 😂✌💕👍😋

Okay, I'd push the weight loss and gain aside
I crave for a taste of this Turkey Tetrazzini😎
LOL

i really like this type of information thanks bro

Thanks yourself.

This time of the year S.A.D. is a real thing. I would recommend taking some vitamin D , or going to a tanning bed for a few minutes.

Obviously when you do this over and over again, you get to lose more and more weight. No pain no gain @nxtblg Keep at it

Good point. Thanks for the encouragement.

Weldone and thanks for the information