Why Do YOU Prep?

in #prepping6 years ago

When I was little, we were very poor. When I say poor, I don't mean unable to pay the cable bill or buy the newest gadget, I mean DIRT POOR.

I have vague memories of eating sugar and milk on bread or toast because that is all we had. I remember going to the local thrift store and trading in my dingy shoes that were too small for a "new" pair of dingy shoes in my size.

Even though I was little bitty, those memories impacted me more than you can ever imagine.

Finances proved to be better as I got older, but I still retained those memories.

For years I felt a prompting to put back USABLE items such as food, water, candles, lanterns, medical supplies, etc. About 8 years ago I could not ignore those prompts any longer.

I began hearing about people called "preppers". Of course, most tried to make preppers into crazy conspiracy theorists who are prepping for an invasion from outer space. The more I researched, the more I realized that while there are a select few mentally unstable people out there, most preppers are just like me...simply put, being prepared for common emergencies that will likely happen to us at some point, (flat tire, power outages, storms, job loss, etc).

I prep so that I don't have to look into my hungry grandaughter's eyes and tell her I am sorry..that I don't have anything. I prep so that I don't have to watch someone I love die in front of my eyes because they were injured severely and I didn't have any supplies or training to offer them help. I prep so that I can keep my family warm if the electric goes out in the winter.

These are a few reasons I prep.

Why do YOU Prep?

Sort:  

I prep so my family will be taken care of.
I prep so I may help others.
<3

I could go on for days about this subject.
People in general need to be more self reliant, SHTF rarely involves the end of the world. Most time it is small and personal up to a local natural disaster.
Pass your wisdom to your kids and grand kids

I couldn't agree more!

Some of mine is exactly what you said, being dirt poor as a child. I remember going shoplifting at the grocery store so we could have a meal it was so bad at times.

But then I married a Marine who felt strongly that we needed to get prepared. That was 27 years ago and now it is just a way of life. I can not image not doing everything possible to save and/or stretch a dollar. Even though it is just me now, I still buy dried foods when I have extra money, lol.

Once a prepper.....lol! Once you have seen the light, you cannot stop.

I prep because the only way I can be truly free is if I can take care of myself and family should the SHTF. Will the SHTF? Who knows? Better to have the things you need if it ever does, than find yourself in a difficult position because you failed to plan.

Love this answer! 💖

The bible tells us to be prepared and for many of the same reasons you gave.

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +vote

Congratulations @oilyshumblehome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!