Muzzle Brake, Stop Giving Me Breaks!

in #print3d4 years ago (edited)

This is the fourth of my cross-posts from Steemit, originally posted 15 days ago.

Well, it took three attempts, but I finally got this thing to stay intact while removing it from the supports:

DSC-0029.png

Not only is this gun considerably thinner than the one on Object 279 (122mm vs. 130mm), but there is an extra attachment point that is rather unforgiving to work with: that prominent ring right behind the muzzle brake itself. The M-62-T2 has that, the M-65 doesn't. Anyway, at least I know that printing this level of detail is indeed possible in 1:220 scale. My previous versions of both the the T-10M and Object 279 used the same file as the 1:285 scale model. The comparison is below:

DSC-0025.png

DSC-0026.png

DSC-0027.png

DSC-0028.png

The new one is on the right, in case you can't tell. The one in the background with the turret traversed to the rear is a new turret (I printed two in case I broke one) mounted on a spare hull that I had. Tomorrow's print job will be the interesting one. It will get a video as well as a collection of photos.