Firefox Focus review: Fast mobile browser with built-in ad blocker

in #privacy7 years ago

product-focus-hero-high-res.2c3ad9e5c99c.png

For everyone who wants to keep his activity on the internet as anonymous as possible, Mozilla has released Firefox Focus. The browser has ad blocking built in at the core and stores as little data as possible. By blocking ads and ad trackers, the browser helps to browse faster and to save data.

Focus on privacy

Besides blocking advertisements, Firefox Focus blocks online trackers, erases your browsing history and deletes cookies. This essentially means ads won't be able to follow you around, in the sense that you won't see ads related to your last searches on Google.

The Android version was released last week. The iOS version was released earlier, but has less features at this moment. The Android version has a counter listing the number of ads blocked so far, a notification reminder that Firefox is still running and an option to disable the tracker blocker.

I've tested the Android version and have to say it works really smooth. The browser is very small with a size of only 2.23 megabyte. By blocking ads webpages load noticeably faster than in my default browser, Google Chrome for Android.

Video

Although the browser is small, simple, very fast and protects your pricacy, I also miss a few features. The browsers has no tabs and no option to create bookmarks. Hopefully that will be added later. Apart from these 2 missing features, if you're interested in protecting your privacy online, Firefox Focus is a very good browser in my opinion.

Screenshots

636300325974201076.jpg
try-mozillas-privacy-friendly-firefox-focus-browser-android-right-now.w1456.jpg
636300374481922852.jpg

Firefox Focus is a browser which does exactly what it's supposed to, and it's good at that!

Download Firefox Focus for Android

The app is free and works on any device running Android 5.0 or later.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mozilla.focus

Download Firefox Focus for iOS

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/firefox-focus-the-privacy-browser/id1055677337


¯\___(ツ)____/¯ Don't miss out on my next post! Follow me @penguinpablo

Sort:  

Wow...Firefox is now back on my radar. I left them a long time ago. Great post and information.

I use the mobile Opera browser sometimes. It also has an ad/tracker blocker built in. I will be for sure checking out this new Firefox if it is faster than Opera.

Yeah I thought they were done for. I still like their FTP program for websites better than chrome. It's really the only time I use them.

do try the new beta versions .. desktop / mac/ linux versions : they are uber cool

Sounds interesting! I have a Mac and am running Chrome and using adblock - you mentioned the IOS has less features - can you explain a little more?

Unlike the iOS version, the Android version has a counter listing the number of ads blocked so far, a notification reminder that Firefox is still running and an option to disable the tracker blocker.

Super interesting. I have always hated firefox, but this might change my mind. Favored chromes functionality in the past. Im going to download it for ios and give it a shot. Thanks for sharing! More stuff like this.

Used it in ios. Certainly lightweight. Thanks for spreading the word on a good browser; upvoted!

Installed immediately. Thank you @penguinpablo

This post received a 0.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @penguinpablo! For more information, click here!

Yay firefox is the best, thanks for sharing!

Nice online privacy is very important. I think it is not available for laptops.

Wow, awesome, i am definitely goona give it a try. I use Brave browser on my PC, which i think is actually developed by some ex employees of Mozilla.

I personally prefer Opera that has several handy functions such as integrated stable and fast VPN (for free). And it is smart in many ways.

graciassssssssssssssssss

i m more to a chorme guy but with all these new features, will definitely check it out. tq for the update!

so beautiful! Awesomee review

Agree, firefox is amazing it is supported all new functionality and it continuously updated itself. It has some great features. upvoted

I have to try this new one because for years I've used the regular Mozilla on my Android & it's gotten so slow (even using ad blocker) I'm contemplating using Chrome but I'd rather not give that institution any more attention.

Thanks for the update @penguinpablo, I'll have to check it out. Time for a new mobile phone soon!!!

Like it, I installed it, really cool.

I used to use firefox back when i was in high school. I"ll consider trying it again, but chrome in my opinion is a great browser.

Very interesting ... I only use Chrome ... I'm going to download Firefox, thanks for the information

I did not even know about this, thanks so much for making me aware

Looks like pretty cool. I will try it and if it is fast then I am gonna use it as chrome halts sometimes.

Thank you for the info, I'll look this up. These days I'm always prepared to switch browsers if it better suites my needs.

Good post... I'm sure Steemers are more likely to appreciate privacy that the average bear, but you can't hammer this point home enough.

BTW, I have been using Focus on my iOS device for a while but not Android... good to know it's avail now. Downloading as I type. :-)

Instant download on this one. Used Firefox for many years and this version looks very promising!

Firefox focus + a VPN is a perfect way to protest data-surveillance.