I Love Pro-Wrestling.

in #pro-wrestling8 years ago

I am a fan of pro-wrestling,and I am quite proud of that.My fandom began 38 years ago when I saw the Mid-Atlantic t.v. show for the first time.Men like Harley Race,Ric Flair,Johnny Valentine and Wahoo McDaniel caught my attention and my curiousity.Living in Charleston,S.C.,a hotbed for the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA),was a gift.The NWA's product was based around athletic matches,incredible promos and strong storytelling.The feud between Ric Flair and Dusty Rhodes,for example,was so intense and so emotional,that fans would regularly start riots.
Imagine,if you will,Ric Flair and The Four Horsemen breaking Dusty's leg in the middle of a ring,and the only thing protecting the Horsemen was a steel cage around said ring.It took the Horsemen 45 minutes just to walk to the back..Yes,45 minutes!!
Soak that in,people.
While I do understand some knuckleheads will say my favorite sport is "Fake",I instead say that it is the finest theatre,carnival show and sport all wrapped into one.
Yes,pro-wrestling started on the Carnie circuit,in case you didn't know.
My love is for the characters,the chance to cheer and boo for whomever I choose,the appreciation of a great match and the love we have for a classic match.The beauty of the dance within an 18X18 or 20X20 ring is amazing when one is cognizant of its beauty and meaning.Like great classical music or a well acted moment,it can draw out emotions,'cause us fans to respond loudly when a moment is huge or a favorite wrestler returns to once again dance within the squared circle.
I have for most of my life been a fan of men like Flair,Rhodes,The Undertaker,Nick Bockwinkel and Eddy Guerrero.They appeared to me as larger than life superstars capable of amazing feats of athleticism.I have never lost that wide eyed amazement,just to let y'all know.It burns in me as hot as it did on that chilly winters day in 1978 when I first saw it on T.V.
I,along with my friends Sean and his Caroline and my girlfriend,Candy,are working towards a goal..The goal of finally going to a Wrestlemania together.The show of shows is the big time,the lights on bright,the Super Bowl,the Gold Medal match..The Show!!
As I said in the beginning,I am a proud pro-wrestling fan and will never stop being proud of it.
Hails,Horns and Grouses..Ian Israel.

Sort:  

Wrestling is an interesting beast. I can relate in the number of years of fandom. Having spent most of my youth in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, the culture of pro wrestling was all around me.

This is the home of the Hart wrestling family, and their influence both in the then WWF, as well as the spread and popularity of Stampede Wrestling, played a large role in the community.

I'm mixed about the current mainstream product, however, I do remain a follower of it. It's difficult at times to engage in the WWE, albeit, there are a number of alternative options out there I do enjoy.

Well described

Congratulations @ianisrael! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ianisrael! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!