How to manage time and be productive

In a word - Organization!

I work 60 hours a week on average, am going to school (on line) this semester, and volunteer 2–3X a week as a tutor and I enjoy it all so I make it happen. Here is what works for me.
QuickScreencapture_20180108-094250.png
Credit

At Work

  • At a high level I use my MBOs (Management By Objectives) or goals for the year to guide me. These should be looked at weekly to guide you in what you should be allocating your time at work to. Mine are reviewed quarterly by my manager which helps me to stay on track.

  • Create a To-Do-List for the day or week. Be realistic about what you can accomplish in that time, and it’s OK to put smaller or simple things on there like “Call Mike about meeting”. The goal is to keep you focused. No better feeling than crossing something off a list!

  • Organize your work space. Easy. Nothing wastes more time than looking like mad for a file.

  • It’s OK to say no to people or to commit to another day or time. Don’t get distracted from what you need to accomplish.

At Home:

  • Back to the To-Do-List. Create one for home. For example I have one for weekends. If I know I have to do some work, and laundry too but need soap and also happen to need tissues, my list is in order and has work in the morning, then the store (tissues, laundry soap) and then the laundromat.

  • I keep Post-It notes handy. Everywhere. When something I need to do pops into my head I have something to write it down on (I’m old school and should really use my phone app but I’m a visual person..) and then it goes on the To-Do list.

  • When I have too much going on I make a promise to myself that if I get something important crossed off the list, I can do something else that’s fun. We all need a break but knowing that I will enjoy that movie so much more if I already finished the reading
    I needed to do for work, it’s that much nicer!

The goal is to prioritize based on deadlines and manage your responsibilities better with planning and realistic scheduling, and your time management will improve. It has helped me tremendously. Good luck!

Sort:  

plz give me some idea............how to manage household chores in a short time...many many thanks for your post

Delegation lists if you're a family, responsibility schedules on the fridge or just assigning someone with a task indefinitely just because they do it so well. I dont think there's a right way. Mix and match methods and see what works for you.

I love this. So many people underestimate how useful a list is (multiple lists are even better) and I feel like I just wander around in circles if I don't have at least one.

It's hilarious that you order your list according to your day. I do this with my grocery lists and order it according to the store layout. I used to get laughed at until my friend went to Costco with me (do you know anyone else that can go into that place, get all of their items and be out in 20 minutes without going over budget?)

Yes! I usually destroy my budget if I go into a shop without a list. It's always a case of "I'm sure we'll need it at some point". We never do...

Ugh! Tell me about it! I'm SO lucky extreme couponing doesn't work here. I'm terrified to run out of things and I have to fight not to stock pile.

My daughter will open the huge pack of Costco toilet paper, I sense it from the other side of the house and yell "Omg!! Put toilet paper on the list!! I'll have to go get more tomorrow so we don't run out!!" Well, that's not entirely true, but that's what happens in my head hahaha!

Mad! haha. Overreaction, much? I'm sure she thinks you have ESP (or a camera in the pantry).

She actually thinks I need to get professional help lol

Lists and goals are so important, but I've personally seen my friends and I trip up over the weekend when schedules are a lot less structured. We end up starting the new week having undone all the great progress from the previous week. I suppose having a somewhat structured weekend helps to alleviate this. thank you.