Designing my room with productivity and mental hygiene in mind

When I was 8 my parents gave me a room of my own for the first time. I went to bed that night, scared. The room felt too big without my sister dozing beside me. That night I dreamt of flying down a deserted highway in the twilight. I woke up the next morning excited, and began arranging and rearranging my room (starting with pushing my bed up against the safety of The Wall) The possibilities!

To me, a well designed room/home offers
a physical outlet for my inner aesthetic,
a wellspring of comfort, both practical and emotional,
and an atmosphere that not only facilitates but encourages productivity.
In this way, a simple dwelling place can become ones temple, workshop, and therapy.

I've recently moved into a room measuring roughly 11 x 11' and about 10' high. I'm going to be spending the next 10 months living out of this room -- mainly reading, internet-ing, and sleeping. I have drawn up a plan and bought the materials to build a loft bed to free up some floor space, but I have little experience in carpentry so I'm kind of nervous about messing up the integrity of the structure. I'd hate to put myself at risk of a rude awakening. (If there is anyone who is willing to look over the plans I have drawn up, let me know.)

So far I have a small fold-up desk, a mattress on the floor, and a reading chair. I want to create this into a room that will have me smiling and sighing in relief as I walk in, held together with a type of organized chaos, that's zen enough to where I can meditate without being too distracted.
Vines, succulents, and other green plants.
A wide open work area and decluttered floor. Plenty of shelves and knick knacks on the walls. A place for my humble collection of reading material.

I'm still in the progress of unpacking, but once my room is less of a mess I will be sure to upload pictures. It helps me flesh out my plans in my head.

2017-06-25 19.54.39.png

Sort:  

It is awesome that you'll soon have a space that is really "yours", you know? I know some things about carpentry but not enough to truly help you extensively. What I can tell you is that triangles are essential! They are on of the strongest shapes to use in any construction!
Look forward to seeing you get everything all set up!

Hi! I would love to look over your plans and help you out. Just email them at [email protected]

Cool! I follow you. +UP

Congratulations @pacificzoolander! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!