Building Virtual Reality

in #programmer2 years ago

The idea of creating a world in virtual reality was really intimidating to me. I have never done anything like this previously and never used game development tools such as Unity or Blender. With that being said, I decided to give it a go. I told myself this is something that I would accomplish. Within two months, I had published my first world. I spent a lot of time in those two months figuring things out while constantly making mistakes and having to go back and fix things.

Let me introduce you to, The Waiting Place.
Even though I don't do photography anymore, I still have a lot of love for that time in my life and wanted to incorporate my photography into the virtual world that I was building.
Screenshot-2022-10-21-123607
There are different rooms for different types of activities. This is a movie room where you can actually watch movies with your friends. The weird timestamp and other things you can see in the screenshot aren't actually there in the game. It's only visible since I took these screenshots from the editing software.
Screenshot-2022-10-21-123818
The main entertainment room has games to play like pool, beer pong, guns with targets, and many more! It also has some musical instruments to mess around on and other little toys to play with.
Screenshot-2022-10-21-123914
A little nook for some friends to sit around and talk.
Screenshot-2022-10-21-124009
There are a few other rooms, but you'll have to check it out yourself! :)

Even though it was build for VR, it can be played on desktop too.

-Thatcher