Screeps - A Game to Learn to Code

in #programming7 years ago

About 9 months ago I was looking for a way to learn a new programming language. I wanted to learn how to write Javascript in order to begin creating Node.Js applications. I found the following game wher I was able to quickly get a grasp on Javascript though the tutorials, well documented API and great community who were willing to help me get started and answer a few of my questions. If you are looking to learn some basic programming skills or to develop those skills check out this game.

Here is an example of some of the code you write in the game in order to perform all the game functions. Your code runs in the background day and night in a game where creative solutions and efficiency will beat out even the most active of players.

https://screeps.com/

Its free to make an account and to look over the documentation and start the tutorial. If you decide you want to play then you can buy the game though steam. If you have questions or want to give me a shout out then send me a message my IGN: Atanner

Hope you will check out the game and start your own programming journey.