Sort:  

I'm planning on doing the work as far as the code goes. Since steemit already supports github flavored markdown, it shouldn't be a hard change. They are using remarkable, which supports highlightjs.

Obviously the programming community isn't the largest on steemit, but I feel it has a great chance to be and this feature would make a huge difference.

That said if the team doesn't want to accept it, I understand.

Have a quick look at the closed merge requests and the explanation ...

Help me out. I'm not really seeing a pattern or anything. Are you part of the team?

I'm not part of the team.

I have just seen some good merge requests being closed for good.
Before you put a lot of work in, be aware, that it probably will not go through.

I'd appreciate colored code, but as I said above: Given the history, it probably has very little chance ...
Maybe it would be something for chainbb ...

I was a bit worried about your comments so I looked trough 20+ pages of pull requests on condenser... I could only find one feature request that was closed and I found the reasoning for that one to be sound. Do you have some examples?

https://github.com/steemit/condenser/pull/1433

edit:

Well ... looks like there were not many merge requests for features.
The two I found were shut down.

Yeah that was the one I was referring to :) Well, will be interesting to see how it goes down if you create a PR for this @jimmyhmiller. I'll be rooting for you!