You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Programming Journey

in #programming2 years ago

I got into programming as a kid too. My first real programming language was QBasic even though it was already mostly dead when I started learning it around 2001. I got an old 386 with Windows 3.1 so that I could program in my bedroom without using my family's primary computer. I remember making several DOS games with QBasic. I also learned HTML even before that.

Sort:  

I got into programming as a kid too. My first real programming language was QBasic

Oh man that makes me feel super old :D

You definitely should check out QB64 if you started out with QBasic :)

I'll look into that! Most of the technology in this post is from before my time, but I wonder what it's like for today's kids that are growing up on touch screens and smart phones.

There was a big period where "computer" lessons at schools were around teaching word processing and slide presentations, but with things like Scratch, the Raspberry Pi and even Swift, I hope more kids are getting into making their computers/tablets/phones do stuff :)

A bunch of friends kids got into programming through Minecraft and Roblox too!

Learning how to use Microsoft Office was basically the main topic of computer classes when I was in school in the 90s and 00s. Roblox crossed my mind too and I think you're right about the younger generation! The ones who are curious about how technology works have so many new ways to learn.