Obsessed With Success

in #programming4 years ago


This is how you look at your pc after 12hours of writing nonsense code.

I have sent most of my active hours in front of my pc trying to apply all the knowledge I have gathered. It has been a frustrating experience but here is the catch: I don't want to stop. I can't stop practising. In fact, I want to commit more time to my projects so I can level up my skill.

I have an unusual obsession with succeeding, especially when I put my mind into something. I like to believe am goal-oriented and passionate. If it is achievable then be sure I will push for it and I will never take no for an answer. The good thing about this said goal is that I only have to commit my time and brainpower which for me is the least one can do to achieve their goal.

But...

I burn out easily, especially when I am not getting positive reinforcement.

Positive reinforcement is important in staying motivated during a long period of applying your mind and heart to a task. Today I went from coding along to actually applying my mind to something. This was the ingenuity I have been lacking for the past 3 months and that was the reinforcement I needed--that I was actually learning something and not wasting my time. Unfortunately, I don't know as much as I thought I did and that's good in the sense that I can actually pinpoint the said idea or concept I do not fully understand and then search for solutions. This is what I love about programming--the plethora of information at your fingertips, most of which are free. It is even more fun for me because I have a couple of friends who are on the same path, which makes it easy for me to learn and share my problems.

Being single minded

I get obsessed about a thing and forgo everything else. It is a good and bad thing. I can't seem to pay attention to anything else these days. This week I have sent most of my active hours in front of my pc learning and that has affected other areas of my life like blogging and earning. Asides earnings, I haven't been able to as involved in many activities on the chain. I heard there was a hardfork about a week ago and a potential reduction in curation rewards. I actually do not know what to make of this information as I have no in-depth view on them. My only take from this is that I have to put in more effort in my other endeavours. I think the hive/steem blockchain has served me well and long enough and it is high time I create other opportunities for myself that aren't tied to these chains. The thing is my new curiosity is overshadowing my interest in writing. I have to make a conscious effort to write these days which never used to be the case.

I am feeling burnt out already from hours of sitting. My back and tummy hurt. Even last night I could not get proper sleep because I was playing with different syntaxes in my head. I am currently working on a landing page for my freecodecamp project. Here:

https://codepen.io/nonowrites/pen/ZEWMgxj

It isn't looking as good as I want. My major challenge has been styling my header. For some reason I haven't been able to position my nav bar properly



It keeps moving off the page. I think the problem is the way I structured my HTML elements. I will figure that anyway. I don't want to go deep into it. It is such a simple task and the fact it is taking such a long time to complete isn't comforting at all.

That will be all for now guys. Cheers!

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Good luck in your journey bro.

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks bro

Posted using Dapplr

Good one brother! I never knew you were into programming.

Thanks mate. I just started 3months ago.

Posted using Dapplr

Ooh. Owk..I myself just started a week ago.currently at HTML5

I do like a bit of Lorem ipsum with my coffee in the evening. :)

Sweet post! I even recognized a little bit of myself when reading about your burning out, frustration, etc but still continuing to write code. 😄

I usually make my navbars only from nav and a href links - I don't use lists in them. I make the width of the navbar 100%, the position: fixed. I don't give the navbar a height. I give the href links the class of nav-link and give them a padding, not a height and width. Thanks to the nav-link padding the height of the navbar should change too.

I encourage you to check out the Programming Community on Hive aswell as start posting your programming related posts there too! 😉

i can relate to a lot of what you said here.
i also get obssessed.......