Game that I fall in love with as developer

in #programming8 years ago

TL; DR

Couple months ago I discovered RTS game about programming creep units to make decisions instead of the player in the online world. 24/7.

BTW. Hello, this is my first post and it's kind of storytelling about part of my life.

Me playing stupid games before - #introduceyourself

I like to play games. A lot. Unfortunately, my weak dexterity and slow reflexes made me really low player when I needed to agressivly click on your keyboard and spam your mouse (tho I have enjoyed this). After years of wasting my programming skills down there, I came up with idea of botting games that I play, which gave me a lot of fun and opportunities for growth in my coding skills when I need to inject into some other process and change its memory on the fly to control character and work around my lack of "Being A True Player". The end of this kind of stuff was always the same, getting banned for something that between gamers is widely considered as cheating.

First time when I'm allowed to program strategy instead of wasting my time

When I have discovered Screeps for the first time I was amazed. Game not only allowed me to play the game as I liked, but it forced every other player to do the same. The full strategic game, that gives you API to move your StarCraft-like units/buildings and runs your JavaScript code on its servers all time, from dusk to dawn. It's all about being the best smartass that does the best code and gets the best strategies done in low CPU and memory usage.

My contribution

Since I'm playing for a while now, I decided to let my source code of Screeps be open to other players, which can be accessed here. There are also a couple of repositories that can be widely used as "helping tools" created by organization called Screepers, that I'm proud of belonging to.

Take your chance

As every game in an early stage, what this one needs most are the players! At this moment there are 1354 players that I have to fight with, which is way to easy to be on top of high score table! Take your chance and dig into the world of Screeps. I challenge you. One day you may win: "The world's first
MMO strategy sandbox game for programmers
".

Sort:  

wellcome

this sounds cool. wish I knew how to program.

this can be very helpful, just in case you wish how to learn that ;)

You are in a perfect place to learn how to do that ;) There a lot of people here (me included), which are here to spread the knowledge about beauty and importance of programming.

The first step which you can do is to read the content from #programming. Try to find people, which describe things in a way you like. Stick with them, and ask them questions. Read stuff which they recommend, etc.

And the most important: be consistent about it! :)