Google Scripts- Something New To Toy Around With

in #programming4 years ago

So today I had a reason to actually learn to use google scripts enough to do something with it. I tried in the past, but had no real motivation, so I'd just open up the documentation and close it immediately.

But actually using it, I liked it. It brings so much more power to google apps(I was using sheets) and can simplify so many things. Data tracking is important for most projects to make sure they are using their resources properly. And manually doing it can take a lot of time.

It was really easy to get started. Its just javascript with some google APIs as well in order to interact with their products. No needing to learn a new language. I didn't do much with it, mainly pulling data from a server and just displaying it on the sheets. Getting it to work was a nice thing to see.

I use spreadsheets to track a lot of things. Formulas are pretty useful and do most things pretty well. But now that I know how to actually use google sheets, I'm definitely going to be using it a lot more to make things even easier.

Time to go revisit some of my older sheets and redo them(I can actually get live prices(stocks and products I wanna buy) now instead of having to manually update).

Sort:  

hella
Google Sheets is rad

I knew it was rad, not this rad.

it's like when something's good, but then like it's gooder, but you're the one that changed