You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple C++ calculator explained

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

Yeah, I was thinking more along the lines of C tutorials rather than C++ like the one above, my bad. Sometimes, depending on how one copies array's of characters (or reverses them) in C they forget copying the null character if its a copy function or forget that they have to write their code in such a way that avoids reversing it along with the "string" itself in a reverse function.

I would enjoy those tutorials, but that's just me. I like building blocks, starting from the ground up (okay, we might not need asm tutorials, although I'd love to dig into that as well). Basically, knowing how to do it in C and then being thankful for what we have in C++. ;)

Its not really a request per se, just a comment that I would find them interesting, especially for those who might be reading that are new to programming.

Cool, I was just curious about writing out the power logic. Would love to see a follow up post on the 2^n functions to introduce the concept of bit shifting optimizations.

Not sure if anyone else would be interested in those though.

Sort:  

Bit shift would be a cool idea for the next one! I'll be sure to go back to these comments before I start posting again.

In my opinion, it is easier to learn programming in a language like C++, then move C once you get the hang of it. C is a bit more confusing when you are a beginner.