Agriculture could hold potentials for youth

in #projecthope3 years ago

Nigeria is a west African country blessed with all manner of natural resources. It is rich in fertile soil, man power and cultural diversity. Before the discovery of crude oil which I believe is more of a curse than blessing to the nation, out people sole source of income was agriculture. We farmed and we pleasured in it. It was our pride and we looked forward to harvest yearly. Soon the farmers began sending their kids to school and they got indoctrinated, they began to loose interest in what's sustaining them through a western education, eventually, they cut themselves off. Well, if times were as they used to, an educated fellow will surely gain employment in a reputable private or governmental organisation, but that's not so anymore. You've got to strive and compete with people who have graduated ten years before you. You go out and discover some of the truck drivers and market merchants are people who have bagged degrees with excellent grades.

orchard-1872997_1280.webp
Image Source

So why not go back to the main source of our economy strength of those days. Pride wont allow, we've gone so far trying to become civilised and cooperate we can't stay low to till the soil.

Few weeks ago, I made a decision to go into agriculture, preferably planting. I see potentials in it. I see a future for myself, wife and kids. I see myself creating employment and as well contributing to feeding my nation. I made my research but once again came across a stumbling block- capital. The major thing on the list is acquiring a land, afterwards Labour. I shared my dreams with a few people but you know, they want you to take a step and then support you with the little they have, but in a case I have nothing to move an inch? Some don't even believe that it is possible, they see it as merely a product of imagination, perfectly theoretical but inexecutable. I ended up with the idea that I need to get a job and safe, yet, where is the job. Do I venture into selling my properties?