Wherein I show a few things I make. (6 images)

in #projects7 years ago

This is a post I like to make in the social networks I join. Though, they seldom gets much interest, really.

First I'll start with a small list of things I'm "working" on. One of the perks of having a healthy curiosity is that you often feel a need to pursue very different activites from time to time.

I started with programming, then I took a "sabatical decade" to pursue traveling and art.
Until recently, last year, I managed to acquire a new computer which helped me get a few gigs and coinz.
Right now I'm designing a small, short and cute videogame about a girl and her cats. Any coincidence is merely similar.

This is a little screenshot of my code in C#
screenshot.jpg

Another thing I had going on was that I've always liked to draw. Apparently, my mind works weird in a way, so often I find that in my mind there's always at least two things at the same time.
I've been told this is impossible, but I'm not sure.

It feels like, I'm "seeing" things with my mind's eye and at the same time I am commenting on whatever, either what's around me, or what I'm imagining, or something completely unrelated. I strongly suspect that this is not as uncommon as they say, but rather, more people have very little imagination!

So, I always have liked to do those strange looking doodles with squiggly lines and amorphous shapes.
cosarara.jpg

I like to believe that they are somewhat aesthetically pleasing, the truth is darker and derranged.
They are something that I describe as "snapshots" of my current mental process.
Every shape, line, shading and apparent form has a meaning which is only decipherable if you have my inner mental context.

But the cool thing is that many people can find some sort of meaning with their own context. So, while I see something very particular and specific, people always surprise me with what meaning they find there. Really interesting.

As a result of this practice, I've recently (4 years or so) started to try to make more "figurative" art, trying to portrait actually-exsiting objets in my own style. I'm not a fan of hyperrealism, because that requires much more time and energy than what I can spend on it.

casabosque3.jpg

As you can see, I prefeer a more cartoonish style. Anime ruined my life. Currently I'm working with watercolors mostly, I kind of like the coloured pencils too, but the problem is that you need to have lots of different shades to really make a good work. And with watercolor, with a fairly minimalist pallete you can achieve a very wide range of color tones. Besides, they're much more portable :D
casamagofafufo.jpg

This is one of the latest I tried with the coloured pencil. Its supposed to be a work-in-progress design of a wizard who lives in the middle of the forest, whose daughter is the main character in the game project.

I think I should make a post about it, maybe.

Anyway, in order to get coinz for surviving while I do these things, I sell the art I make in the street. That's how we travelled in 8 states in Mexico so far, 24 states to go. I hope to be able to claim to have at least stepped on all and every state of Mexico.
IMAG0854.jpg

This is my "tendido", my little vagrant shop. This is more or less what I use to carry my art, which in this photo is actually a small sample. It's missing my drawings for example. Every day I make a few new things. Every day, I sell a few things. They all carry a little piece of my heart.

One of the trouble with traveling a bunch is that modern electronics are poorly designed to withstand kilometers.
This is what my old computer, poor thing, a frankenputar. I think it's pieces of 3 laptops.
IMAG0784.jpg

Fortunately, it's retired now, as I've managed to acquire a new one, thanks to a lovely friend who was nice enough to gift me one! That's crazy. But I'll love her forever.

Well this is already too long, so I guess I'll let this go up now.

Thank you for your time!

Sort:  

Love your laptop ;) Maybe you can buy the next one with Steem

that would be really good if I could make it!
How does one go about actually generating money in here?

Thanks!

You are already making money. You get it after 7 days. You can trade Steem for other currencies on various exchanges.

Oh, i understand that part.
The part about steemit gigs I read somewhere, I dont know what they are yet.

Okay. Steemgigs are about offering services for Steem, e.g. design, translation, transcription. Lots of potential there

But those are for working with the site directly or between individuals ?

I think they are between individuals. There may be opportunities to help out with the Steemit site. If you can help then post examples of what you can do.

Eres una de las personas más interesantes que he visto en este sitio, pogramas, haces arte y joyería. Muchos dirían que esas cosas no van juntas hahaha.
Yo también soy artista y estoy estudiango ing. de Software, somos un poquito similares creo. :)

¡Muchas gracias!
Yo cuando empezé a programar lo veía por un lado más "artístico", eso de sentarte y crear algo nuevo y útil me ha parecido fascinante desde muy chica.
Oye, ¿crees que valga la pena poner los posts en español e inglés?
¿O sería mejor poner uno en español, y el mismo en inglés aparte?

Gracias!

No tengo idea, yo uso inglés porque es más general, he visto varios usuarios asiaticos que hacen sus posts en ambos idiomas.

Creo que por el momento usaré principalmente inglés. A ver si me encuentro más personas de habla hispana.

¿Quizas hay algun tag? #Espanol
Los tags no tienen eñe :<

Spanish

What do you mean Spanish ?
Do you want to read the text in spanish ?

no, el tag para los post en español es spanish

Congratulations @zaidazadkiel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!