Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge + Winners + What I have learned!

in #promo-mentors6 years ago (edited)



Source

Hello everybody!


What I have learned from the challenge


The previous promo-mentors challenge has impressed me! I never thought it would gain the traction it had. With 80 entries , I had a lot of curating to do, but the posts I read made it worth it! I started the previous challenge when I heard new members saying in our discord group that they couldn't come up with a subject for their post.

I myself had this problem when I started out. And I notice the first subjects we tend to choose, we try to mimic articles we have seen on the internet. Most of the time these article misses the personal touch of the author, which makes it boring for the reader. In my opinion, we can make our articles more enjoyable to read when we insert a bit of our character in the writing, no matter what subject. When people are asked to write something about themselves, I guess this gets easier.

With this challenge I hope to make it easier for the people to find their personal voice in their writing :)


Summary and Winners


  • 3 people who got a @curie vote.
    Top article from @traviz!
  • I lost count of how many I send to @ocd but I think it was about 4.

My first pick for the winner is @euguma for her touching story about seeing her mom again after a decade from when she was 5 years old. Read her story here.

Next winner is @estherekanem for how she got involved with "Ekpo Ekong", a tradition in her country. Link to the story.

And as last but not least @kweenbrand. In her entry she talks about bullying at her school and what had happened to her... Read her story here.

  • Congrats to the winners you guys will receive 50% of the total post rewards.
    The rewards for the post:

The rewards have been converted to Steem. With the current market price 6.22 Steem will be divided between the winners and @euguma will receive an extra 5 SBD as the first pick.


The Next Challenge


  • For this challenge write about an experience that changed you. When was it and what happened? What did you learn?

  • All good entries will receive a community vote and a curation of your profile by me. You will have a chance to be featured in @ocd or @curie.

  • The best 3 entries will receive 50% of the total rewards of this post in STEEM. The best entry will receive an extra 5 SBD, which was part of the prize pool of the previous challenge, in which nobody had a correct entry, so the prize will be used in this challenge. The winners will be chosen by me.

  • For your entry make a post titled "My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge" (you can add a title to this) and use the tag #promomentors-challenge. Don't forget to link your entry below!

  • You have a week (till 11 March).





Good Luck! 😊



Sort:  

I have written, edited, honed and polished my piece for this challenge. It is remarkably longer than I anticipated, and I am extremely proud to present a personal, non-poetic post:
https://steemit.com/promomentors-challenge/@poetrybyjeremy/my-promo-mentors-writing-challenge-how-depression-changed-me

Well Last 2 years July I can't remember the exact day my dad got trouble with his company, we used to live good and I actually approached life with a "money can solve my problems attitude", he works as an IT staff for channels distribution Ltd at Ikeja, 2weeks to that day some laptops were missing from the warehouse and he was incharge of it, the company without hesitation ordered for his arrest regardless of what he had to say, I and my mom and some other family members who had influence in our community went to talk to the DPO but he made us to understand there was nothing we could do, we were willing to pay any amount asked for but that was a situation money or influence wouldn't save my dad from, after the runs I shared my problem with a friend of mine and he said he told his pastor and put us into prayers, as we may have it though my dad spent a significant time in prison he was released, after these I learnt we can't always get out of every problem with money

Hello @ihamquentin! What a fast reply! I wanted to let you know that you should put this in a post!

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #38. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

I have the perfect event for this one! Will be joining again but will not be talking about Banewen this time hahaha.

OH GREAT!!! Im up for the new challenge now =) thanks

Thank you so much for the previous competition. Congratulations to the winners and thanks for the honourable mention :D Hopefully I can surmise something for the next round :)

Looking forward to it man! :)

Wow. Congratulations to the winners...

My own entry coming up in a bit...

I'd be back.
walks away slowly, off to craft a post...

Congratulations to the winners. I am glad I participated.

Wow! I never saw this coming.
Congratulations to my co-winners
I really want to say I'm so happy.
Thanks @futurethinker for organizing this contest.
It was worth joining it.
I'm ready for the new contest.
Once again, thank you

No problem! You deserve it!

Looking forward to your other entries :)

this is a very impressive thing in the work, it is the best solution, I will wait for your next posting

Congratulations to the winners... Kudoz to @futurethinker for his great deeds

Thank you so much @futurethinker for the opportunity to have the 3rd position in last week's Promo-mentors writing challenge. I never expected to win,but am glad I did.

No problem! Are you going to join this one too?

Yes. Sure I would! I enjoy writing about my experiences, am taking my time,so I don't submit just anything!

Besides,as long as I have what to write,I would always participate in your writing challenge,you really made me smile this week-I got my highest payout this week since I rejoined steemit after I lost my previous account because I participated in the last challenge and it's actually my first time to win a contest...lol
Let's say, You have become my number one steemit fan...lol

Good to hear! :)

Thanks for the opportunity to take part in this challenge, @futurethinker. Here's my entry:
My Promo-mentors writing challenge: fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome

Thanks
Anj x

Congratulations to all winners and honorable mentions. Thank you @futurethinker for this. 😊

I did enjoyed the other entry and must surely be involved in this @futurethinker

Thank you so much @futurethinker for having time to go through my post, i saw your comment, i also did a little work on it to make it more suiting to the contest topic.

I would really appreciate if you could find time to go through it again. Thanks

Wow, thank you for mentioning my name and appreciating my work @futurethinker.. And thank you for helping us to think of what to write for our post.

bring it on FT! 👌

Hi @futurethinker! Thank you for finding my mini blog in this big ocean. I find out my crochet blog was nominated in the ocd daily issue #207.
I now know about this contest and you because of that recognition. Being noticed really means a lot to us newbies and it encourages us to keep on engaging with significant topics.

I really appreciate it. I hope to join your contests and this one!

Hello ablaire! No worries! You deserve it :)

Hope to see your entry soon!

hi @futurethinker ... been having issues all evening with my steemit ... but I finally able to drop the link ... here is my submission https://steemit.com/promo-mentors/@blanca237/promo-mentors-writing-challenge-or-what-i-have-learned

Before the clock ticks 12AM, here's my entry:

https://steemit.com/promomentors-challenge/@xianglingslsl/my-promo-mentors-writing-challenge-or-broken-down-and-build-up-or

I hope it still counts, I've been caught up with assignments and school life. ><
Thanks for hosting this writing challenge :)