Listen, Learn, Grow

in #promo-steem6 years ago

image

I'm that girl who wants everyone to be happy and fulfilled. I know it's not possible. Not really and the reasons vary. Some people are selfish and mean, some are greedy, some don't want to listen or help themselves get better...I know all this. But I keep trying anyway I can, day by day.

Sometimes it's money, sometimes it's healthy issues or emotional ones. Some folks just need space to breathe so you take them out to see a movie or shoot them that email, funny picture or warm message. Helping someone with their business/brand is on that list too. Some people just want to talk and vent. Be the listening ear. These are some of the things I do on the daily. I was raised in a caring home and taught to care for others. you'd be stunned at some of the crazy stuff I have done to help some folks.

This isn't me blowing my trumpet. I need no validation for what I do daily. What I do need, what I wish, is that more of us would do this. The world would be such a better place.

Last week someone I've never met who lives in an entirely different state, sent me a great gift. She sent money to a mutual friend to make me a cake.That was something I wasn't expecting. My mouth was hanging open for seconds when 'the mutual friend' gave it to me.

The other day another person saw a whatsapp status I put up as a rant(totally a joke), saying NEPA has ruined two soups because of power supply and I wasn't even home so I didn't know for two days. I was sent food through a delivery service.

I didn't ask for them. I haven't even done anything for these people before. So why would they bother? They just wanted to give and put a smile on my face. This is what I'm talking about. kindness. helping others. The Bible calls it looking out for others and not just yourself. It doesn't have to be food or money but try as much as you can to make someone smile and have something extra good in their day. We need it even more now in Nigeria. You know that right?

What can you do for someone this week? It doesn't have to be someone you know and don't bother about their gratitude level. If that is why you do stuff, I assure you that you'll give up very fast. Gratitude is not a human traits we all possess.

I'll ask again, what can you do this week?

#listenlearngrow