I am going all in to support the UK Marketing Initiative #Promo-UK and we need you too

in #promo-uk7 years ago (edited)

I have been on the Steemit platform for almost a month now and I am mind blown on how supportive the community is and how much potential Steem has with all the new projects being built. I have been following the network for quite a few months but only recently applied for an account to be fully invested.    

Last week I had a call with the long term Steemian @StephenKendal to talk about Steemit marketing and what his plans were to support Steemit growth in the UK. After discussions, I can now announce my personal plans for the platform and how we need all marketers, designers and developers to do the same.   

Steemit has the capability to grow and has the right technology being built to cater for the mainstream audience. However, there is one key part that is still lacking and that part is marketing. With the release of Zappl coming soon and other platforms. There are some incredible things being built that have a good chance to take users away from other social networks. However, there is still the issue of targeting those users to come on board. Whilst they will likely grow at a natural rate which is the result of how Steem has grown so thus far. With a good marketing push we will be able to accelerate growth and user signups even more.   

Steemit Inc are already doing a fantastic job in marketing and have pushed the brand to target new users. Steemit is likely to see phenomenal growth, far faster than we have seen before because users are already aware of similar products and the adoption rate will be quick because of it.   

The tough part is that Steemit needs a marketing team like Facebook has to achieve mass adoption… 

I will let that statement sink in for a bit… Now I will ask the question, does Steemit have the funding right now to do such as task? The reality is no, however there is a solution. 

CrowdSource Marketing – We Need You!!;

Going back to the day I spoke to Stephen, that morning I was already writing my next piece for Steemit and it was a post that would be similar to this one except it was going to explain the potential I saw in Steemit and what I could do from a digital marketing perspective to help growth. The post was designed to raise awareness around Steemit needing more marketing support and that I was willing to start an initiative that would get all marketers on the platform together and we could find a way of crowd sourcing the work required and fund it through announcements. Then I came across Stephens post about the #Promo-uk initiative and realised it was already underway. 

As soon as I read through that post I was immediately texting Stephen to arrange a call and explain what I had planned and what he had already put in place. The announcement today is I am fully on-board with the Promo-uk marketing push and I want to convince others to come on board. 

What I am Doing

I have a few plans to help fund and support growth for the platform that I will list below. 

Firstly, I am a Marketer

My profession is in marketing. I run a digital marketing agency here in the UK which has resulted in me building a useful list of PR contacts, freelancers and gained experience to put a plan of this scale into action. I have worked with many medium to enterprise level companies so I hope I can contribute my knowledge and experience here. 

I also started off as a technical marketer. I am no full blown developer but I know more than enough to apply my knowledge of marketing to put a solid plan together and execute it if people with the right skills can help me. So in a nut shell I will be building the digital marketing side of the promo-uk initiative. This is a long road that may well mean I need to find a way to speak to people actively developing the Steemit platform but I am confident we can do it. 

Secondly, I am becoming a Steem Witness to help fund promo-uk

Whilst I can put some of my time into supporting Steemit for free there will always be costs incurred for marketing. This is something Stephen mentioned to me and he is already putting his own money into funding the incredible work he has done so far. Us and promo-uk need a way to fund larger scale marketing plans if we want to capture a larger audience. 

I have been thinking it over the past few days and I have decided to become a witness. Not only does becoming a witness allow me to contribute to supporting to core functionality and upkeep of Steemit, it will eventually provide a small amount of funding that can be used to help promo-uk.   

Being a witness is a slow process and the profits come from getting people to vote for you as a witness. In the early days, it will not return much and will barely cover the servers costs to run. I will front these costs until I can grow as a witness in the community. I will be running my node on a reliable server and it should be live in the next few days. Eventually when the ROI of running the server becomes profitable I will put some of those funds directly to promo-uk.   

So please if you are interested in supporting the growth of Steemit in the UK please vote for me as a witness and you will help me cover the cost of the witness server and eventually provide enough to fund our marketing plans. I will be doing a follow up post directly to discuss what I am doing as a witness. 

What can you do?

I have shared my plans for helping Steemit in the UK. But with myself and the team Stephen has built at promo-uk it is still not enough. We need everybody that wants to help to stand up and let us know. If you know how to code, great. If you know how to design, perfect. If you want to just provide a helping hand that is even better right now. We need people to do all kinds of tasks from creating banners, building interactive content pieces and distributing flyers. All of this will help build Steemit into the social media platform it should be and ultimately increase the shares we all have invested in. 

If you would like to help build the UK Steemit and help support promo-uk to bring Steemit to the masses let us know. You can either comment me on here or message me directly on steem.chat or get in touch with Stephen directly via the bat phone on 07546957973. 

We pay in Steem

Don’t think that everything you do for promo-uk will be expected to be done for free. We appreciate that people time is valuable and whilst we would love all the volunteer work we can get, the reason I am becoming a witness is so I can there are funds to help support and pay people who are helping the platform. This may be for design work, development work or just labour work spreading the word. 

The only thing we ask if you could be happy to take your payments in Steem. I am getting funding in Steem and it will be much easier just to send that across. 

Support us by upvotes

If you just want to support what we are doing please follow me upvote and resteem these articles and help us get the funds we need to start online ads and other marketing materials required. I will be covering exactly what the plans are in the coming weeks. 

One last favour that would really help. If you are keen to help us push promo-uk forward please vote for me as a witness. I have already got the help from the guys at @privex who are looking after the servers I am using to be a witness. Voting for me will slowly push me higher in the ranks as a witness which will provide me more funds to put back into promo-uk. I will be very transparent about the funds received and where they have gone so you know your vote has not been wasted. For anyone interested in hearing more:  

Comment here and I’ll get in touch 

  • Follow me @adamm
  • Follow @stephenkendal 
  • Speak to me on steemit.chat @adamm
  • Vote for me as a witness (I will be posting more details in a few days)
  • Stay up to date on the #promo-uk posts

Thank you for reading and I hope to hear from you soon about helping Steemit in the UK. 


I am helping to Support STEEM growth and much more. Support me doing this by:

Voting for me as a Witness

Follow me for more posts and info like this


Sort:  

Hi, I am a fellow UK based Steemian (quite new) and own a small ticket printing business. I do the graphic design, pay per click marketing, some social media marketing and some web design for our business, so I may have some skills to assist you with. Let me know if there's something specific I can do. In the meantime I'd vote for you to be a witness if I knew how?

Are you on Steemit chat? message me on there and we can chat.
Regarding the witness stuff. I need to do a separate post as my "witness statement" and at that point you will be able to vote. Should only be a couple of days.
I can show you how once that's done.

Not yet, no. Let me go and figure it out. Cheers!

Hmm, I'm on my iPad and when I try and log in to steemit chat it just says 'please wait' and hangs. Can't figure out why? Wonder whether it's not compatible with Safari somehow?

steemit chat seems to be a bit iffy at the moment. if you struggle with that add me on discord adamm#7012

Okay done.

Hi @spacehoppa. I have finally done my witness application. If you would like to read it and support me please check it out https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adamm/witness-application-adamm-to-support-the-growth-of-steem

I am very excited to have you in the #promo-uk team Adam. Looking forward to talking again about the Digital Marketing you mentioned last time we spoke. Cheers Adam. Speak soon. Stephen

Thanks Stephen, lets speak early next week when everything is setup and we can start planning.

Perfect. Sounds good. Look forward to it. Stephen

Hi..i've just called the bat phone ;)
Hi, Adam..sure you can have my vote though my list is blank, i dunno how to set it up before..might need to go back and set it up.
I had a bit of contact with Stephen before about the fliers but didn't go through. Am in London so I can do something about the fliers. Cheers!

Hi. Sorry I missed your call. Thanks for the voicemail. I tried ringing but it too wait straight to voicemail. Please text me your email and I will email you the flyer over. Stephen

Hi. It was great to finally speak to you over the phone. Thank you for your email. I have now emailed the #promolondon flyer over in .pdf file. Stephen

Hey, add me on steem chat adamm or on discord adamm#7012 and I can send some info about voting for witness.

Umm am not in any of those ;) ;)

no worries :) ill comment you when i have my witness post finished.

please ;)

Hey @immarojas. I have finally got my witness application finished. If you would still like to vote for me please check out my application here https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adamm/witness-application-adamm-to-support-the-growth-of-steem

alrite.will check that out.the issue is fi alising the vote but i will find the proper key.

I am from UK, great to see something like this being pushed here good plan :)

Thankyou, give a big credit to @stephenkendal. He started this a while ago and its picking up steam!

Hi I am from the UK too! How could I assist in any way?

get in touch on steemit chat adamm or on discord adamm#7012 and we can chat

I will check it out! Followed you any how so will be in touch!

Followed and upvoted. I support anything that supports the community to the extent you're set out to do. Keep it up! 👑

Thankyou! I will be released plans as soon as they are agreed with the promo-uk team and of course as soon as I have sorted everything out to be a witness.

Great post @adamm and a truly great initiative.
I'm hoping to do a post today or tomorrow highlighting the growing support for TeamGB, SteemGB, teambritain (name to be decided) and I've had logos posted.
@aggroed has supported the idea by agreeing to give us a thread in discord to help members club together. It's not really about rivalling the Aussies although the banter is fun and entertaining.
I hope your idea can be synergies do with TeamGB.
GREAT WORK MATE.
@tremendospercy
If anyone is interested in joining please click below and put yourself forward by writing a comment. Upvoting is nice but not requirement. Resteems the same.
https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@tremendospercy/a-passionate-plea-for-teambritain-can-we-rival-the-aussies
Thanks all

Thanks! I will keep an eye out for your post.
I think TeamGB will be a great little group and there's. othing wrong with a little friendly competition and banter :) all efforts will result in steemit growing worldwide.

@teamaustralia are a great bunch and have been very supportive of my posts.
The instigator @sirknight is a great bloke and made me an Honourary founding member and British ambassador, so there is no animosity just a crack between great rivals.
Cheers buddy.

Hi, thank you for sharing, following you! ^^

I love the initiative!! I'm not in the UK but Id love to help if I could in anyway!
Let's make steemit the new global social media platform!

Keep it up @adamm,
Gonna resteem to help support the initiative!

If you can help anyway that would be great. We have people from all over helping with development, design and all sorts. As I said I'm on Steemit chat as adamm so if you want to help get in touch.

Great initiative! Good luck!

thankyou :)

Woohoo, well done on all your efforts to spread Steemit to the UK. I am definitely trying to get my UK friends to sign up as well :) look forward to seeing your witness statement go up so I can vote for you there :)

Hey @hannahlicious. Here is my witness application if you would like to check it out :). I hope I can get your vote. https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adamm/witness-application-adamm-to-support-the-growth-of-steem

Secondly, I am becoming a Steem Witness to help fund promo-uk

Glad to hear you're interested in becoming a witness. I just had a couple of questions:

What are your technical expertise?

Have you written a blog specifically about this?

Hey @fulltimegeek. It is a little later than what I said to you but I have finished my witness application. If you are interested check it out. I would appreciate your vote if you want to support :) https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adamm/witness-application-adamm-to-support-the-growth-of-steem

Nice job @adamm. I just checked it out and gave you an upvote.

I will watch your node closely for the next few weeks. If it stays online and up-to-date with the feed, I will consider voting for it.

No pressure then! :) Thanks. I appreciate it.

Hey, my main expertise is in technical marketing but I know enough linux sysadmin and code to get by.
My main focus will be on marketing push but I have access to developers to help me make sure the node runs perfectly in case I run into anything beyond my knowledge.

I haven't written a blog just yet. I am doing that in a follow up post (should be in a couple of days) that detail the server specs and the plan on pushing promo-uk. There's lots to do and will need a central area like trello or basecamp to coordinate all the work. All of that will be included in the post.

If you don't mind I will post it here once it's done so you can check it out.

Hi, I am in Bristol, I am reading your posts and links to know more about the promo. Maybe talk to you soon.

thank you very much

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adamm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice post. Thanks for sharing @adamm

best of luck! :) also in the uk (for now)

You are doing such a great service for Steemit! It's so great to see everyone behind the marketing initiative. I think Steemit is a great platform and it's only natural that we share it with the world :)

you are doing such a great work , may God give you success upvoted you

Upvoted, resteemed, followed!! Cheers Adam!

Looking forward to a big UK event one day soon,keep you the good work.i have only been on steem a month and your right its mind blowing.