STEEMIT: I am sticking to my Minimum Projected Target of 650,000 Accounts by Year End, but I think we NEED a lot more MARKETING..!!

in #promo-uk7 years ago

ACCOUNTS PER DAY - 2017

Accounts per day 2017 SCREEN.png

Recently I set a projected Minimum Target of 650,000 Accounts by Year End, and currently I am still sticking by it.

HOWEVER, this is dependant on ONE THING..............MARKETING..!!

Regular Readers of my Blog will know that recently I have increased the #promo-uk budget from £1,200 to a £12,000 annual rolling budget and this is money that is coming straight out of my own pocket.

As the #promo-uk Crowdsourced Marketing and Promotions Initiative gets underway, it will only be successful with the full support of the Community.

Increasing the budget to £12,000 may sound like a lot of money to some, but in the overall scheme of things, it is pocket change.

Crowdsourcing the Marketing & Promotion of STEEMIT and the STEEM ECOSYSTEM is a stroke of genius and is something I have been banging on about for a few months now.

Taking any product to market is all about timing and I strongly believe that this time is NOW..!!

Our window of opportunity opened around April and this window will not be open indefinitely.

Anyone who thinks that it will be ok to be sat here at the end of 2018 and looking at <1m Users are sadly mistaken.

The momentum has begun and it is our job as a Collective Community to keep this momentum going.

It is up to each and every one of us to support the Marketing and Promotion of STEEMIT and I fear that without this collective spirit of support it will do nothing more but drift.

Marketing and Promotion is all about taking your Product to the Market today, go back tomorrow, and repeat it for the lifetime of your Product.

Anyone who thinks that Marketing and Promoting a Product is a "ONE HIT" process will be sadly disappointed.

Take Coca Cola for instance. It was created in 1892 and still after 125 years later they are still out on the streets handing out free Coca Cola to keep their market alive.

As we Market and Promote STEEMIT we should all embrace this part of the life-cycle process of STEEMIT with open arms, as without this crucial and critical part of the process my fear is that it will simply drift along.

So is 650,000 Accounts achievable by the End of the Year?

Yes, but only with a SUCCESSFUL Marketing and Promotions Campaign.

Thanks again for reading.

Stephen

Sort:  

I make sure to promote Steemit at the end of every video I make now, to 27,500 subscribers. Will be interviewing none other than Ron Paul today which will bring in a lot of traffic and will be interviewing lots of Senators, Congressmen and well known public figures in Las Vegas this next week.

I've been trying to get every well known YouTuber I know to do the same lately. So much potential there. For them & especially for Steemit!

Keep up the great work Stephen! Loving your year end projection!

AWESOME..!! Well done. Looking forward to seeing the interview with Ron Paul. Keep up the great work Josh. Stephen

Will you willing to reward me to promote steemit in Singapore,no need much. 10SBD for 10 person?
I will prove to you if you pay me

The goal is too small imho. We need to think bigger. I would put higher focus on improving the platform.

If its built correctly the masses will follow with far less wasted promotional dollars.

Where's the list of upcoming improvements to Steemit ?

I'm wary of this promotional mindset, because its been used by less-than-honest schemes before. Not to imply that Steemit is some shady organization, just that an "in your face" promotional effort could backfire.

I'd prefer word-of-mouth and some subtle social media campaigns. Let the platform speak for itself, as it were.

But if you feel the need to plaster utility poles with posters and hand out buttons and stickers, well, that's your choice. I just think its a bit over the top, and honestly -- given the promise of the platform -- mostly unnecessary.

Steemit will succeed or fail on its own merits, not just because it has dedicated marketers.

effectiveness wise, its wasted money, been there done that.

Wow really cool. I am waiting to see others.

Wow it's so incredible Mr. @stephenkendal !!
650.000 What's That Really ??
I always Promote #STEEMIT Here #aceh.
Already very many friends from aceh who follow in my footsteps in this Community.
The More To Promote.
Thank you for sharing information to us
Please Follow and UpVote Me @ sallsteem

This is great work!

Are there similar initiatives underway in places other than UK?

The 6 Part Crowdsourced Marketing Proposal that #promo-uk is based on can be replicated in any Country and I am happy for anyone to copy it. Thanks for the support. Stephen

We will get there my friend.. Currently working on a Facebook campaign, we've been seeing some great success!

Check it out: Steemit Facebook Advertising Campaign

650,000 Accounts is alot, however i think it is very achieveable.
I came across my own projections that steemit will begin to follow a natural curve of growth in the next 3 years.

And Steemit ranking is growing pretty fast aswell.
im keeping my eyes on it! 👀

growths.jpg

Great work mate thanks for your hard work...what is the current number of accounts

You are very welcome. We are just over 250,000 and averaging between 1,500 - 2,500 per day. Stephen

Are you saying there's no marketing strategy?
Where's the plans man? 12000 is chump change...where's the real money?
why give all this money to null? Why not delegate those funds to marketing campaigns?

Am I missing something here? Or are you saying the goal is for 650,000 in the UK?

650,000 Steemians in the UK sounds about right

fair enough then...stay calm and steem on

~smiles fer miles~

just in Manchester would be a better goal :)

The trend is towards second account. So that would actually be doable ;P

But from where do we get a STEEM branded canned soft drink to hand it out in the streets?

pretty sure you can buy generic and put the steem branding on it...
like vanity plates, beer and wine labels etc...negotiate with suppliers

Great work you are doing and I think like you say that everyone has to help in the effort to promote steemit. It is not easy though, because some people are scared of change. I have already asked several friends to join but ..... nothing happens. I guess it sounds too good to be true ! Steemit is not too good to be true, it is the reality that is too scary to be "true". In order to join steemit you have to take the red pill. It might be painful at first, but long term you will save yourself. I actually made a post on this topic just yesterday that makes it more clear if you want to check it https://steemit.com/steemit/@dandesign86/why-is-it-so-hard-to-take-the-red-pill

I've found the same problem. Many of my friends who are artists with tons of pictures are trapped in Insta or fb, even when I ask if they made any money out of that and the answer...you know. Strange mindset...

yea it is weird, it's like they are stuck in these worlds and they are scared to leave. Me myself I prefer the steemit community compared to Facebook - our community is more about sharing and less about bragging

Good Thank you for information.
I like ..

I agree with you about marketing. However, I believe we could better explore the potential of Steem blockchain and Steemit through new applications that demand publications. Traceability in the food production chain, for example. I'm working on this and will soon present the project here.

one day we will all look back on the early days of steemit and think, was it really this small. 5 years from now i think we will get to at least a billion users.

I think it needs to be advertised more as an investment rather than 'free money here', the price has dropped despite having a lot more traffic

I think 750k and I hope I'm right. It was 2000+ in 24 hours. 2000 more accounts for 120 days will put us above 750k even right?

Additionally. I wanted to be stingy and selfish and get established here more before telling everyone about it. But I didnt. I've talked 10-20 people into joining.. I will continue fighting the good fight

I admire your diligent and consistent work to promote Steemit @stephenkendal... but I really do hope some of the internal issues here are fixed before we go too mass market with this. There are still problems with new account creation (causing long delays in the approval process) although I'm hopeful HF20 will address that. There's also the massive rash of spam and "copy pasta" that has sprung up recently... doesn't leave a very good impression for "serious" newcomers.

No worries, I'm still very bullish on this place! Just saying we also need make sure we "have the food" before we throw a giant party.