My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge – My memorable experience


Credit: Pixabay

The memorable experience of my life is the day I graduated from university. It was the biggest moment of my life so far and I can remember the tiny details like it was just yesterday.


Pre-Graduation Day

I wrote my final exam and boom! it’s all over just like that. We celebrated with drinks and loud music in my department building and went home straight to embark on some serious prayer points because I didn’t perform as expected in my coursework and now the just concluded exams. My final semester was my worst since my first year because of the commotions I got myself into.

It usually takes 6weeks after exams for my school to release results. It’s the 6th week and now comes the suspense. Here I am refreshing my school portal and mail continuously to know whether I will be joining my friends on the big day.

The Big News….

Dear Mr. Abdulkadir, The Progression and Award board for BSc. Business Information Technology upon the profile presented to them has agreed that you successfully completed your full program and have been awarded the BSc. Hons and that your classification is Upper Second Class Honours...
Kindly come for your Invite and Gown. Your graduation is scheduled to take place on 20th October, 2016….

Immediately, I received the mail I forwarded to my mum and also called to inform her about the big news. She rejoiced and told me she couldn’t make it but my elder brother instead. He arrived Accra a day before the ceremony with my suit I ordered from home and lodged in my tiny apartment.


Graduation Day

I woke up early before my alarm because I couldn’t sleep. I dressed up and was waiting keenly for my brother to finish. Did I tell you I forgot to eat breakfast that day? I was just anxious to get the venue and get it over it and then fly back home, to Naija.

We got to the venue, I introduced my friends to my brother and they did the same with their fellow guest. We chatted and hangout a bit before we were asked to put on our gown and enter the graduation hall.

In attendance were Government officials, CEO/MDs of Organizations, bands and then the family of the grandaunts. We sat through long hours of boring speeches, from executives promoting their companies and products to that of the Minister of Information Technology campaigning for his boss, the president against the 2016 coming elections and lots more. Though, we banged some good music and listened to my best friend speech we spent some time crafting.

Few hours in, I was sweating like a goat on a Christmas Day. The gown we wore is made of nylon so you can imagine what we got ourselves into. We kept sitting and standing up to applaud people we don’t even know until it reached our turn to climb the big stage to collect our diplomas.

Finally, my name was called after several guesses. I gave my phone to a friend to help me capture the moment and winked the photographer I booked to get ready. I walked to the stage carefully in order not to trip over and cause a scene. I collected my diploma, smiled at the crowd and then bounce back to my sit with excitement. Now everybody is eager for the ceremony to come to an end because it’s 5pm already and some of us didn’t have the time or appetite to eat.

Time to put our practice into action. I was overwhelmed with joy when I hold my mortarboard with the little energy remaining in my body and threw it high into the air as possible. The ceremony ended after with snapped 1000+ photos to keep as memories and post on our various social media accounts.



Group Photo with school management and distinguished guests. I'm the 4th person starting from right.

My brother and I at the grduation venue. Picture taken with phone camera.


Post-Graduation

I and my brother went to a fancy restaurant after the ceremony to eat dinner and the first meal of the day for me. I took my brother to see the most popular beach in Accra to relax and have fun the next day before we took our flight back home.

Labadi beach, Accra. Picture taken with phone camera.


This is why my graduation is one of the memorable experience I will never forget in my life.



promo-mentors.gif
Banner by @promo-mentors

Sort:  

Transfer 0.100 SBD to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo

I GIVE you 4 FOLLOW AND 5 UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aliyu-s from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your entry!

You came to the rescue once again. Thank you so much!