Promo-mentors writing challenge: My most memorable experience

Hello Steemians!!!
Last night while I took some time off reading I decided to surf through my feed during which I got to find out about the writing challenge organised by @futurethinker on @egetex blog.
I saw it as an opportunity to share my most memorable experience out of a number of memorable experiences.
Thanks @futurethinker for this challenge.

MY MOST MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE
While growing up,
I would lay on my bed every night wishing my mother was around to tell me some bed time stories, kiss me on my forehead and tell me how much she loves me, pat me on the back as she sings me some lullabies.
I would rush home from school every afternoon wishing mother was home to give a hug as ask me how school was, carry my school bag as she leads me to my room to freshen up, and guide me as I do my assignment.
I would anticipate Christmas wishing mother was around to take my feet measurement using a broom stick, and my waist measurement using my neck.
But wishes weren't horses so I couldn't ride.
FB_IMG_1519731367031.jpg

Mother had left home when I was barely 5yreas old with my kid brother who was close to celebrating his first birthday, leaving me with my father who I didn't use to like.
At first I was mad because I felt the reason she didn't go with me was because she didn't love me enough, each time I missed her the annoyance/pain of having no one around to call mother or brother made me believe the lies father and all his siblings (except one) told me.
I would breakdown in tears and call myself unfortunate each time I saw my friends play with their siblings or say stuffs like "mummy oyoyo", "mummy what did you buy for me?"..

All of these made me look forward to the day I would get to meet my mum not knowing if I would verge out all my anger on her or pour out tears of joy for finally getting to meet her again.PicsArt_10-16-12.56.29.jpg
For a decade and a year I anticipated holding my brother by his hands, playing football with him because he could barely walk the last time I saw him.
That day came when I least expected and the experience it left me with has been my most memorable.

HOW DID IT HAPPEN
It happened like a scene in a 7D movie I felt I was seeing.

After secondary school, I left dad to live with one of his sisters.

One day, my aunt requested I travel with her for a friend's wedding ceremony which blindly followed not knowing where until we got to our destination. That was when she told me I was in my village and my mum and brother are resident there. Immediately, I made a wish and fate couldn't help but turn the wish into an horse that I rode.

I was walking with my aunt into the church where the wedding took place while my mum was talking to someone by the door but backing our direction. At the verge of walking past the door she made a turnaround which startled me, the face resembled one I used to be very familiar with, I recognised the tiny birth mark on her face, I knew there was something about her but I didn't know what. As I looked into her eyes I saw myself, I could feel her breath within me, I could feel her blood flow through my stream but all of these couldn't answer the questions that were going through my mind. There was a connection within us because I could see it in her eyes as she stared back at me with tears almost leaving her eyes.
The silence amidst so much noise was becoming frustrating until aunty said "Emmanuel, meet your mum".
Before she could land the sentence I had ran out of their midst with tears filled with anger and joy rolling down my cheeks. I was angry because she wasn't the one who broke the long awaited news to me, because she didn't rush to hug me at first sight as it happens in the movies I had filled my head with. I felt she didn't recognise me early enough because she had forgotten totally about me but the bond we shared was strong enough to melt my heart the moment the held my hands, hugged, kissed me on my forehead and said the three magic words like she always did before we were separated.
From that day, I believed in fates and wishes. I didn't just see my mother, I saw and recognized my brother who look so much like my father.
WHAT CHANGED?
Everything that could possibly change about a child who wad isolated from his mother and brother for years. The pain that lasted for years left me in less than an hour, the joy that I seeked for years filled my heart in just a moment with them.
Though the moment lasted in few hours but within me I felt it had been with me my whole life, I felt the joy of having a father, a mother and a brother.
I became so determined to go find them again even if I had to by myself, going against the wishes of my father and his relatives.
I made it happen, though I failed at first during which I got a scar IMG-20180227-WA0000.jpg
on my right hand from beating but that scar played a vital role in bringing me to my mum and brother, it became my strength.
PicsArt_02-27-01.13.22.jpg

WHAT LESSONs DID I LEARN FROM THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE?
I learnt a number of lessons from the whole experience which include;

  • You can only separate a child from his mother while he/she is asleep.
  • Never marry for beauty, love or wealth but for tolerance, that was the mistake my parents made. Their love couldn't Stand in for their inability to tolerate each other, mother's beauty faded off in the eyes of my father because he couldn't tolerate her flaws and weaknesses.
  • You don't pass judgements based on one man's story.
  • There is nothing as vital as understanding and communication in every relationship.
  • Most importantly Fate and wishes really exist, they only show forth at the right time.

IMAG0898.jpg

Thank you once again @future thinker and @promo-mentors for this opportunity to share my most memorable moment with Steemians.
download-1.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry! What a beautiful moment!

Thank you for the opportunity