My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge

0adbbe6faa2238eb9c5ba8d2308de532.png
Source

Experiences, either good or bad, leave us a lesson to reflect and to guide our lives with in order to become a better person. They are usually the best teacher that mold us as we grow.

When I was a child, my parents were busy in our small business. They don't give us enough attention which I don't understand before since I was just 11 years old at that time but somehow I enjoyed it for I can go wherever I want without their knowledge. lol

children-playing-outside-1300.jpg
Source

I studied primary at the elementary school that we have in our barangay. I had a group of friends that a typical child normally have. We played a lot like hide and seek, marble and alot more in the school after our class but whenever they decide to play outside the school with their bikes, I felt sad because I dont have a bicycle.

pray-child.jpg
Source

I can still remember how I prayed so hard to God to give me a bicycle. I even wished for it when I blew the candle on the cake on my 11th birthday.

One sunny afternoon, I went home after my class, when I saw a bicycle infront of our house. I asked the laborer in our house as to whose bicycle was it and he answered, "It's yours!" I didn't believed him and I said "Haha I don't believe you. I know you're just kidding me." but deep inside I was really hoping that he was telling the truth that the bicycle was mine.

I ran inside our house and immediately asked my father about the bike. "Whose bicycle was that?" i asked. "It's yours!" he answered.

It felt like his answer echoed in my ear and I just can't believe what he said. "It's mine? Yes! It's mine! Yeheeeey! Can I try it?" i asked him with the widest smile of mine. "Of course!"

441c7ce3b6f07d6ea4721d2ad94b186b--bicycle-safety-bike-ideas.jpg
Source

I ran really fast to the bicycle and looked at it. I touched it and looked how cool each part of it was! I was really happy I finally have a bicycle! I tried it and I happily showed it to some of my friends and we agreed to go somewhere to find someone who sells a bird and of course we are all going to ride our bicycles.

I went home and we had dinner together. I asked my father as to where did he bought it. "A man went here and he offered that bicycle for a low price and his reason was that his wife was about to give birth to their child so he needed to sell it to have additional money."

The day came and I was really excited for our trip, I was even the first one who arrived in our meeting place. Everybody came with their own bicycles and they were amazed how cool mine was.

kids-bike-sizes-9963117.jpg
Source

To went to barangay Owak to look for someone who sells a bird but we didn't found one so one of my friends suggested to proceed to the town of Hilongos and to have a roadtrip and have snacks. I want to disagree since I wasn't able to ask for permission to my parents about it but at the same time, I really wanted to ride my bicycle more and go with my friends for it was my first time. We all decided to go and started the long trip.

shutterstock_279906899-705x470.jpg
Source

When we arrived to Hilongos, we went to the park, sea wall and lastly we went to a bakery to have our snacks. We parked our bicycles and went inside. We ordered bread and juice and ate happily when I noticed the cashier of the bakery shop went near to my bicycle.

He looked into every parts of my bicycle, "Tsk tsk! Who is using this bike?!" he asked with a loud voice. I can see anger in his face while he was waiting as to who was gonna claim the bike. "Me" I answered. He looked at me with an angry face.

"You are the one who stole my bike?!" he shouted at me.

A lot of people went outside to see what was happening because he shouted at me very loudly. As a small child, I don't know how to defend myself. I know to myself that I didn't stole it for it was my father's gift for me!

GettyImages-141671829-crying-baby-57000b043df78c7d9e5ca387.jpg
Source

But what bothers me most is that, I'm gonna be dead if my father finds out that I reached the town without their permission. hahaha i'm not bothered with the bicycle but I am worried because I will be scolded by him and worst if he will spank me. hahaha

They brought me to the police station and reported what happened. I cried because the man are accusing me of something that I did not do. He was scaring me that he will put me into jail. I thought they will call my father but luckily they didn't and they let me ride a bus going back home.

While I was on the bus, all I was thinking was how will I explain why I reached the town. I am not even thinking about the bicycle anymore. hahaha

making-strange-main.jpg
Source

When I reached home, I went straight to my room unknowingly my mother followed me and went inside my room. "Were you crying? Why? What happened?" she asked. I told her everything happened. I was really nervous I dont know how will I explain how did I reached the town. But then, "hahahaha! Really? Your father was fooled by that man. Hahaha I knew it!"

awana-happy-kid.png
Source

From then I was able to breathe deep. The bicycle turned out to be a stolen one by the man who sold it to my father.

My lesson for this is you should ask permission to your parents wherever you go so you wont be bothered if something happens to you. hahaha

Thank you everyone! See you on the next post!

Sort:  

Oh wow, that was quite a plot twist at the end! So...did you get spanked for riding so far away? haha! Talk about learning your lesson!

Gaya2 ng first photo na quotation hahaha bili kita bike hahaha

Fun story! Thank you for participating!