Dehydrating and Dry Storing

in #proofofbrain2 years ago (edited)

Onions, Dehydrating Onions!

Where I live, Northeast Coast US, my planting season starts about April 1st and Ends mid October to End of October. That gives me somewhere around 110 to 130 Grwoing days. Given what I grow, I tend to get a lot of any one thing, all at once. I am trying some early growing varieties to give me a second crop, we'll see if that happens before Early frost!

Above: Cutting and prepping my harvests of Red Beard Bunching Onion.

Harvesting all that onion at once, means, either drying and storing, or dehydrating and storing. The Red Beard Bunching is a perfect onion for drying and dehydrating. The bulbing onions make for good drying and storing onions.


A little note about Dehydrating Onion:
I cut all the pieces of onion to the same size (about a 1/3rd inch or 1 cm) and spread it evenly on the drying rack. I always add a sheet of Parchment paper (makes cleanup easier). Heat is set for 2.5 hours, and set for 130ºF (55ºC). I check the onions at drying time and see if it needs more time? or is ready for jarring it up.


Above: Today's Harvest: Sweet Banana Pepper, a couple tomato, Little Finger Carrot, Purple Carrot, Utah Yellow Bulbing Onion and Red Beard Bunching Onion
Below: Dicing and prepping Onion for dehydrating



Above: Bulbing Onions drying in the basement
Below: Already prepped: Sun Dried Tomato, Bread & Butter Pickles, Dill Pickles, Pickled Sweet Banana Pepper, Blueberry Jam, and Raspberry Jam.



Each week, for the short term, I will be prepping and canning food harvested, to save for my family over winter. On top of food prep, I need to pull the boat, in about 2 weeks for the winter, and begin winterizing the Camper.

Done food prep for the week, and now, printing is done as well, for my weekend of selling images at my Artisan Event: Harwich Cranberry Festival! It's a celebration of the Fall Cranberry Harvest on Cape Cod (home of Cranberry harvesting!)

You've heard of Ocean SprayCranberry right?

LOTS More to come, from my GroVid22 Gardens!


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below... and a link to your garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy New Planting and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1200 Posts.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




Sort:  

Nice post, if you vacuum the jars they will last longer, but I suspect you guys eat things pretty quickly.

Sharing this one.

👍🤠💗😁💙🙏🌊🤕

Good news/Bad news!
Rarely do my dehydrated veggies last more than a few months!

Figured as much, but that's a good problem...good food! I only manage by removing the dried vegetables from the pantry. I just freeze some for munching now, seems to work here.

Dehydrating preserves the food value well, great storage method!

Good prepping, and good eats!

👍💙🤠💎

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 123 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11


Hey @bluefinstudios, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Aw I love onions and I am growing these using recycled bottles like an urban garden. And then in school, me and my students also have urban gardening. They will be designing the recycle bottles and plant it with onions and other spices. We are also growing veggies. Surely you are growing in a wider area my dear friend. Great photos of onions, dehydrating onions.

Have a great day and take care.

Actually, while I have plenty of area to plant, I use Fabric Grow Bags! Here's a link to my area for onion and it is labeled: https://peakd.com/proofofbrain/@bluefinstudios/grovid22-end-of-may-update

I plant ONE LARGE 25 gallon (abt 100 liter) grow bag per type of onion, and also, in the smaller bags 7 gallon (abt 25 liter) I plant a pepper plant and a couple of onion, too.

Aww that is a very great idea for growing spices my dear friend @bluefinstudios . Grateful of the link, and I will check on that. Happy planting my friend. Have a nice time and take care.

Nice start filling the pantry for winter. Nice variety. My onions were a big miss this year. I tried to start from seed and then I didn't give them enough space. I've had a few green onions as I thinned what was left and will have a few bulbs but not many. I've also experimented with dehydrating in my oven. Its a convection oven so I kick on the fan and set the temp as low as it will go. I had some luck dehydrating mushrooms but haven't tried any veggies yet.

Basically, I WAY OVER SEEDED indoors, a month or two before transplanting outside. Then, I started thinning, when I needed something for cooking, etc.

Here's a SORT OF recap (I skip a few steps here and there, but you get the gist!):

Seeding onion: https://peakd.com/proofofbrain/@bluefinstudios/its-a-seedy-day-in-the-neighborhood
Onions after a few weeks: https://peakd.com/proofofbrain/@bluefinstudios/gorvid-update-and-facing-the-facts
Transplanting Outside: https://peakd.com/proofofbrain/@bluefinstudios/getting-dirty

After that, it was watering, weeding and then, thinning, where I picked and used the tiny onion for cooking, etc.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @bluefinstudios.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more